Author Topic: "Best" alternative layout  (Read 20372 times)

Offline Sagii

• Time to bust some nails
"Best" alternative layout
« on: Thu, 24 April 2014, 16:06:33 »
Hi there, lovely fellas!
I'm terribly sorry if this has been answered countless times before (as it probably has, and if so, feel free to just close this thread), but I'm wondering about DVORAK vs Workman.

So I got all excited when I heard about DVORAK and I started learning it immediatly. However, not long after I saw a comment saying workman is just simply better when thinking about finger movement etc. etc. Essentially my question is this: which one should I learn for just normal typing? I mean, when learning the DVORAK or workman layout you have to put in some considerable time, so I don't want to be "wasted" 'cause there is simply a even better layout. :)

EDIT: God, I'm an idiot! >_> Literally one thread below mine was an exactly similar one..
Anyways, I might still ask this question: Is it worth learning DVORAK? I'm norwegian, hence I write quite a lot in Norwegian (it is pretty similar to english, taking into considerations which keys are most often used)... I'd say 50/50 norwegian and english. The problem is that as far as I know the only layout available in norwegian is DVORAK. Is the time and effort put into learning DVORAK worth it?
« Last Edit: Thu, 24 April 2014, 16:17:38 by Sagii »

Offline jakkdl

Re: "Best" alternative layout
« Reply #1 on: Thu, 24 April 2014, 17:30:37 »
As a swede using dvorak, I've decided not to use svorak or svdvorak - and instead remapped alt gr+ueo for åäö. Way better placement of symbols that way.

Regarding dvorak vs workman vs norman vs colemak vs asset vs any other alternative layout, I'd say the differences between them in ergonomics and the like is marginal - but all of them are leagues above qwerty.

Regarding worth, depends on what the goal(s) are, and if can handle the short-term downsides of learning a new layout. Unfortunately qwerty is the standard!