Author Topic: Topre hi profile caps  (Read 854 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline phinix

  • Thread Starter
  • Posts: 247
  • Location: Scotland
Topre hi profile caps
« on: Mon, 27 November 2017, 05:23:26 »
Can you buy them separate, not with keyboard?
7500|1080Ti|2x 500GB SSD|2TB HDD|Z270 ITX|16GB RAM|SFX 600W|Philips 40" 4K BDM4065UC
2x Novatouch 55g silenced|Filco TKL MX blues|Zowie EC2 Evo|X52 PRO
 ::: Phinix Cube ::: Phinix Nano Tower ::: Phinix Aurora ::: Phinix Chimera ::: Phinix Retro :::
star citizen :::  CMDR Phinix 325A LTI

Online Tactile

  • Posts: 912
  • Location: Portland, OR
Re: Topre hi profile caps
« Reply #1 on: Mon, 27 November 2017, 06:44:54 »
I don't think they're sold. And, besides, they wouldn't fit a regular Topre board, anyway. The Hi Pro switch housings are taller in order to accommodate the special caps.
183050-0

Offline clappingcactus

  • Posts: 299
  • Location: Ottawa, Canada
Re: Topre hi profile caps
« Reply #2 on: Mon, 27 November 2017, 07:17:15 »
They fit a regular board just fine. I've personally done it on the keyboard I'm typing this comment on right now.

The problem is there's theoretically more 'wobble' introduced, which honestly is the same amount of wobble with the housings anyway. I didn't notice a difference.

As for OP's question, there's an artisan usually more active on reddit with the name busgamer7394. They have created entire hi-pro artisan sets. They're currently privately selling HHKB sets for $85 with limited availability, and will scale up from there for realforces and fc660c keyboards.

Online Tactile

  • Posts: 912
  • Location: Portland, OR
Re: Topre hi profile caps
« Reply #3 on: Mon, 27 November 2017, 07:21:43 »
They fit a regular board just fine. I've personally done it on the keyboard I'm typing this comment on right now.
...
So I'm wrong again... and it's only Monday. It's gonna be a long week...

Offline sodiumjoe

  • Posts: 55
  • Location: Portland, OR
Re: Topre hi profile caps
« Reply #4 on: Mon, 27 November 2017, 22:40:29 »
They fit a regular board just fine. I've personally done it on the keyboard I'm typing this comment on right now.

The problem is there's theoretically more 'wobble' introduced, which honestly is the same amount of wobble with the housings anyway. I didn't notice a difference.

As for OP's question, there's an artisan usually more active on reddit with the name busgamer7394. They have created entire hi-pro artisan sets. They're currently privately selling HHKB sets for $85 with limited availability, and will scale up from there for realforces and fc660c keyboards.
busgamer/idea23 most recently said the resin hipro sets will be available this month. /u/ayybasketballs is also working on a hipro resin set. I've been eagerly awaiting this for a while.

Offline phinix

  • Thread Starter
  • Posts: 247
  • Location: Scotland
Re: Topre hi profile caps
« Reply #5 on: Tue, 28 November 2017, 03:12:19 »
Cool, thanks for info.
Can we keep updated this thread, so we know where can we finally find them? Cheers guys.
7500|1080Ti|2x 500GB SSD|2TB HDD|Z270 ITX|16GB RAM|SFX 600W|Philips 40" 4K BDM4065UC
2x Novatouch 55g silenced|Filco TKL MX blues|Zowie EC2 Evo|X52 PRO
 ::: Phinix Cube ::: Phinix Nano Tower ::: Phinix Aurora ::: Phinix Chimera ::: Phinix Retro :::
star citizen :::  CMDR Phinix 325A LTI

Offline Sup

  • Posts: 24
  • Location: Europe the land of import costs
  • My wallet is empty again
Re: Topre hi profile caps
« Reply #6 on: Tue, 28 November 2017, 15:32:13 »
he did say that it would be on sale in like 2 weeks a few days ago. So keep your eyes open and it will be a raffle sale for sure. But hey it's just blanks i can touch type fine but it looks ugly IMO.

Offline phinix

  • Thread Starter
  • Posts: 247
  • Location: Scotland
Re: Topre hi profile caps
« Reply #7 on: Wed, 29 November 2017, 04:37:54 »
he did say that it would be on sale in like 2 weeks a few days ago. So keep your eyes open and it will be a raffle sale for sure. But hey it's just blanks i can touch type fine but it looks ugly IMO.

Blanks?! Ooft, didn't know that.. I'll pass then..
7500|1080Ti|2x 500GB SSD|2TB HDD|Z270 ITX|16GB RAM|SFX 600W|Philips 40" 4K BDM4065UC
2x Novatouch 55g silenced|Filco TKL MX blues|Zowie EC2 Evo|X52 PRO
 ::: Phinix Cube ::: Phinix Nano Tower ::: Phinix Aurora ::: Phinix Chimera ::: Phinix Retro :::
star citizen :::  CMDR Phinix 325A LTI

Offline clappingcactus

  • Posts: 299
  • Location: Ottawa, Canada
Re: Topre hi profile caps
« Reply #8 on: Wed, 29 November 2017, 08:56:36 »
Busgamer also happens to be one of the extremely rare artisans in the community with dye-subbing ability. Just give it time.

Offline donkey

  • Posts: 7
Re: Topre hi profile caps
« Reply #9 on: Thu, 07 December 2017, 04:08:54 »
I've heard Realforce Hi-Pro model will be discontinued soon.
I'm hoping this means its mold may be sold and reused elsewhere.

Also there is MT3 profile designed by matt3o which I think is owned by Massdrop.
Massdrop will surely encourage designers to create MT3 profile keysets.

In short, I think we'll be seeing more Hi-Pros in the future.