Author Topic: Button giving out/Help!  (Read 2556 times)

Offline AnTi PRO

• DAS Boot
Button giving out/Help!
« on: Tue, 01 November 2016, 23:24:39 »
Howdy all. Mech noob here!

I've had my DAS with blues for probably going on 4-5 years now and over the past 2-3 weeks or so my A button is giving out on me. I've made sure everything is super clean top to bottom, pulled the keys out and gave it  good once over and I can't seem to figure out what's wrong.

It typically won't work on the first strike, but then when you hit it again it will work. And if you have to type a few A's in succession it tends to work well until you lay off of it for a second.

So any advise on how I can fix this. Or am I going to have to learn how to solder this bad boy with a new switch?

Thanks in advance!

Offline tp4tissue

• * Destiny Supporter
  • OmniExpert of: Rice, Top-Ramen, Ergodox, n Females
Re: Button giving out/Help!
« Reply #1 on: Tue, 01 November 2016, 23:49:08 »
mm... easy fix..   but you will need a soldering iron.

Get one of those $5-10 irons..  you don't need any super soldering pro deluxe gtx xtx,   since ur only fixing 1 switch..

you'd take apart the keyboard,  and then just touch the iron (after hot)  to the two contacts on the key to reflow the solder there.

Now, if the switch still does not work right .. 

THEN you need to buy a SINGLE replacement mx blue switch,  and swap it out..

You also don't need a desoldering braid or gun etc..   just take some cutips,  and while the solder is melted,  quickly push it up and away from the contacts using the cutip..

Don't hold the soldering iron on the contact for too long,  or you might burn off the trace..

BUT,  don't be afraid,  because even if you burn off the trace,  take a picture of the back of the board,  and we will tell you where next to solder to by jumping the connection using a basic copper wire,