Author Topic: Royal Kludge RK61 Repairing  (Read 9049 times)

Offline KanoKanKan

Royal Kludge RK61 Repairing
« on: Tue, 13 October 2020, 07:28:56 »
Greetings, this is my first time posting here. I want to ask a question regarding my RK61. The switch for "W" key is broken so I want to change it with the new one. So i desolder the old one and I try to solder the new one in. But I think I messed up the board whn I tried to do so. It looks really bad that I'm afraid it cannot be repaired. Can you guys suggest what I can do for my keyboard?

This is what it looks like:

Any suggestion is very much appreciated. Thank you.

Offline Rico

Re: Royal Kludge RK61 Repairing
« Reply #1 on: Tue, 13 October 2020, 07:44:18 »
It looks like you destroyed the switch copper pads...

And also it looks like you have solder that bridges 2 pins of the led,  before plugging back the PCB it would be good to ensure that it is not the case.

Did you cleaned the area with isopropil alcool ?
This may give us a better view of what the problem really is.

Offline nmur

• ಠ_ಠ
« Reply #2 on: Tue, 13 October 2020, 07:58:15 »
yeah that looks pretty roasted. it's still fixable, though it will be more difficult now.

the copper pads that the two pins are gone now, so you would need to either carefully scrape off the black shielding layer of the copper traces that the copper pads used to be connected to, and solder the switch pins to those as well. alternatively, you could determine where the traces connect to, and solder a jump wire to those points instead. unfortunately, this PCB design uses just the two switch pins to hold the switch in place, so you may have to find another way of securing the switch in place

additionally, as mentioned, it looks like you've resoldered two LED pins together above the switch hole, which should be separated

it looks like you may have also melted the A key's LED plastic as well, so that might not work now

Offline KanoKanKan