Author Topic: The Road to Keycap Production  (Read 1678 times)

Offline Clubkids

The Road to Keycap Production
« on: Sun, 26 February 2017, 19:38:55 »
Morning all,

I'm curious to hear from some longer standing members here - preferably those with first hand experience - on what the road to actual keycap production looks like. From concept to delviery. As far as i can tell, it's below;

• Initial Idea / Concept
  • First draft (in my case I've used Keyboard Layout Editor)
Now this is where i'd love some advice if possible. What is the best way to vet your design / concept as marketable and wanted? A post here, a poll on massdrop? What  do you guys feel is the best way to validate concepts. Is it best to have renders done prior to releasing design to give a really good feel of what it will look like?
  • Renders
  • Validate Concept via Online community
  • Contact Vendor (Massdrop / Keyclack etc)
  • Sell Product
  • Vendor delivers

I'm a rookie, so i may be way off. Look forward to hearing everyone's opinions here!

Offline Puddsy

• nice
    • * Elated Elder
    • "Do you shovel to survive, or survive to shovel?"
    Re: The Road to Keycap Production
    « Reply #1 on: Mon, 27 February 2017, 16:25:39 »
    you'll probably get better luck PMing vendors than asking publicly like this

some people are pretty private about the method

i've never done it but it seems easy enough, just very time consuming
    QFR | MJ2 TKL | "Bulgogiboard" (Keycon 104) | ctrl.alt x GON 60% | TGR Alice | Mira SE #29 | Mira SE #34 | Revo One | z | Keycult No. 1 | AIS65 | First CW87 prototype | Mech27v1 | Camp C225 | Duck Orion V1 | LZ CLS sxh | Geon Frog TKL | Hiney TKL One | Geon Glare TKL

"Everything is worse, but in a barely perceptible and indefinable way" -dollartacos, after I came back from a break | "Is Linkshine our Nixon?" -NAV | "Puddsy is the Puddsy of keebs" -ns90

Offline zslane

« Reply #2 on: Mon, 27 February 2017, 19:13:45 »