Author Topic: Help with building full set of cherry profile keycaps  (Read 4517 times)

Offline lowkey

Help with building full set of cherry profile keycaps
« on: Sun, 19 February 2012, 00:12:26 »
I have been recently trying to put together a full 87 key set of cherry profile keycaps.  Unfortunately I haven't had much luck, and I'm kinda new to this, so I'm looking for some help.

I recently purchased a brand new Cherry G81-8043LUVEU-0 with what I'm assuming are lasered keys on ebay for about $10 to fill out most of the board.  I'm okay with this, don't care about doubleshots, don't care about the color, don't care about ABT, PBT, I just want the profile because I love the shorter height when compared to the Filco keycaps.

Anyway, here's what I ended up being able to use from the G81:

So basically everything I need is still black.  I knew that I would need to modify the spacebar and that some of the modifier key stems would be off center, but I was still was under the assumption that at least some of the modifier keys from the Cherry G81/MY boards would fit.  Unfortunately when I pulled all of the stabilized keys off, they looked like this, including the spacebar:

Obviously I screwed up somewhere since I ended up not being able to use any of the stabilized keys...

So what I'm looking for is some kind of info on what boards I should be looking for to get the keycaps I'm missing.

So which Cherry boards I should be looking at, and which I should avoid?  Like I said before, I don't care if they're doubleshot, pad printed, lasered, or what color they are... I'm only interested in the profile itself.  As you can see in the first picture the profile is uneven and it bothers the hell out of me.

I'm also unsure as to whether any of first row modifier cherry profile caps (which would be considered the moogle kit? is that right?) or the caps lock keys have centered stems.  Do these even exist?  

Thanks in advance.

Offline spikeh