Author Topic: Looking for feedback on an ergonomic layout (PYUW)  (Read 2133 times)

Offline william

Looking for feedback on an ergonomic layout (PYUW)
« on: Fri, 06 March 2015, 00:02:31 »
Hey guys,
So I have been playing around with ideas for a keyboard layout for maybe two years now, and this is the newest iteration. I'd like to get some feedback on what you think about it.
92881-0
It is heavily influenced by Dvorak, with the vowels and punctuation on one side.

My priority for fingers goes middle>index>ring>pinky, and my priority for rows is home>top>bottom. The most difficult keys for me to reach on this layout are the top row keys toward the very middle, so I gave those the lowest priority. I didn't make any concessions to QWERTY for two reasons; I think it makes it difficult to switch between two layouts when they are too similar, and because QWERTY is garbage. As far as shortcut keys are concerned, those can go where you are used to them by adding them to an alternate layer.

I ran some books through a text analyzer for key frequency data, so here is that:
Code: [Select]
Key Occurrences %
E 120465 11.84
T 95755 9.41
A 84088 8.26
O 81596 8.02
N 71332 7.01
I 68475 6.73
H 65791 6.47
S 61514 6.05
R 51862 5.10
D 49418 4.86
L 41038 4.03
U 31742 3.12
W 28699 2.82
M 25420 2.50
Y 22914 2.25
C 21904 2.15
G 21900 2.15
F 19495 1.92
B 15922 1.56
P 14727 1.45
K 10772 1.06
V 8566 0.84
J 1820 0.18
X 1178 0.12
Q 857 0.08
Z 424 0.04

Here is a link to a layout analyzer I used as a reference:
http://patorjk.com/keyboard-layout-analyzer/#/load/4ccDHpcF