Author Topic: So, who's got Leopard?  (Read 6355 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline iMav

  • geekhack creator/founder
  • Thread Starter
  • Location: Valley City, ND
  • "Τα εργαλεία σας είναι σημαντικά."
So, who's got Leopard?
« on: Fri, 26 October 2007, 19:21:23 »
Anyone make the trip to their local Apple Store for the Leopard launch event?

Anyone get a t-shirt?  :)

Offline iMav

  • geekhack creator/founder
  • Thread Starter
  • Location: Valley City, ND
  • "Τα εργαλεία σας είναι σημαντικά."
So, who's got Leopard?
« Reply #1 on: Fri, 26 October 2007, 20:14:22 »

Offline kb3llm

  • Posts: 12
So, who's got Leopard?
« Reply #2 on: Fri, 09 November 2007, 21:15:06 »
-
« Last Edit: Wed, 26 February 2020, 19:42:11 by kb3llm »

Offline iMav

  • geekhack creator/founder
  • Thread Starter
  • Location: Valley City, ND
  • "Τα εργαλεία σας είναι σημαντικά."
So, who's got Leopard?
« Reply #3 on: Sat, 10 November 2007, 07:05:18 »
I'm using Leopard right now.

Spaces is nice (would like a few more keyboard shortcuts though).

Time machine will be useful once I get my office rearranged and my external drive situated.

I use iTerm, so I've had tabbed terms all the time.

I look forward to messing with the new iChat.  Historically, I rarely do video chat at all.  But it is fun on the rare occasion.

I've also got the new iWork, iLife, and bought the Photoshop CS3 upgrade.  More to come on those later...Today, I must SHOP AT IKEA!!

Offline xsphat

  • Posts: 2371
  • Location: 'Sconi FTW
  • Enlightened
    • Dan Newman, Writer
So, who's got Leopard?
« Reply #4 on: Sat, 10 November 2007, 12:19:34 »
What is the keyboard shortcut for Spaces? I have always wondered.

Offline iMav

  • geekhack creator/founder
  • Thread Starter
  • Location: Valley City, ND
  • "Τα εργαλεία σας είναι σημαντικά."
So, who's got Leopard?
« Reply #5 on: Sat, 17 November 2007, 16:30:12 »
Quote from: xsphat
What is the keyboard shortcut for Spaces? I have always wondered.

By default?  It's F8.  (but that's configurable)

Time Machine has severely disappointed me so far.  Does not support network-attached storage.  You can hack Leopard to use a network drive...but it is flakey and, basically, unusable.  (which is likely why they nixed that functionality)

I won't use Time Machine at all until NAS is fully supported.

Offline ashort

  • Posts: 489
  • Hoosier Daddy
    • http://andrew.wingedwheel.net
So, who's got Leopard?
« Reply #6 on: Mon, 07 January 2008, 23:31:20 »
Mark the day.  January 7, 2008.

I bought and installed Leopard.

1.  Browsing certain files in coverflow is really neat.  Pictures especially.  I don't know if I'd want to look for a spreadsheet with it.  =-D

2.  WebClip widgets are freaking cool.  I immediately made a widget out of my google contacts list. =-D

3.  Can't wait to fire up Time Machine, not tonight though.
Andrew
{ KBC Poker - brown | Filco Majestouch - brown | Dell AT101W | Cherry G84-4100 }

Offline ashort

  • Posts: 489
  • Hoosier Daddy
    • http://andrew.wingedwheel.net
So, who's got Leopard?
« Reply #7 on: Wed, 09 January 2008, 10:14:21 »
Got Time Machine in with a few incrementals and it looks like it works about as slick as advertised.  Writing the backup to my NAS drive and no issues yet.  Except that it immediately used about 60GB on the NAS drive.  =-D

Only drawback is that the wheel doesn't let you scroll back and forth through time, and it seems intuitive to me to do that.  Wheel works great in cover flow, why not in Time Machine?
Andrew
{ KBC Poker - brown | Filco Majestouch - brown | Dell AT101W | Cherry G84-4100 }

Offline xsphat

  • Posts: 2371
  • Location: 'Sconi FTW
  • Enlightened
    • Dan Newman, Writer
So, who's got Leopard?
« Reply #8 on: Wed, 06 February 2008, 18:29:13 »
I got Leopard today.

Offline xsphat

  • Posts: 2371
  • Location: 'Sconi FTW
  • Enlightened
    • Dan Newman, Writer
So, who's got Leopard?
« Reply #9 on: Wed, 06 February 2008, 19:35:33 »
It's a little clunkier than Tiger, so aside form the fluff, what's so big about it?

I also had iTunes glitch on my second display - it gave me a white shadow of the window I just closed and it stayed until I opened it again from the dock.

Offline iMav

  • geekhack creator/founder
  • Thread Starter
  • Location: Valley City, ND
  • "Τα εργαλεία σας είναι σημαντικά."
So, who's got Leopard?
« Reply #10 on: Wed, 06 February 2008, 21:43:51 »
Quote from: xsphat
It's a little clunkier than Tiger

Describe "clunky".

Quote from: xsphat
so aside form the fluff, what's so big about it?

You mean, aside from Spaces, Time Machine, Web Clips, and Screen Sharing?

There will be official [Time Machine] support for network storage with the next Leopard update...having a laptop, I am looking forward to that.  

I've had spaces-like functionality with linux and solaris for years...nice to have it in OS X now (although it still needs some work).

Offline xsphat

  • Posts: 2371
  • Location: 'Sconi FTW
  • Enlightened
    • Dan Newman, Writer
So, who's got Leopard?
« Reply #11 on: Wed, 06 February 2008, 23:24:01 »
Quote from: iMav;2816
Describe "clunky".


When I watch videos and my mouse hits the Dock, everything slows down and gets choppy. This is also the way it is with Expose and Spaces but worse. Tiger was a little boggy at this but not nearly this bad.

Quote from: iMav;2816
Web Clips, and Screen Sharing?


Web Clips, and Screen Sharing? What's that?

Offline iMav

  • geekhack creator/founder
  • Thread Starter
  • Location: Valley City, ND
  • "Τα εργαλεία σας είναι σημαντικά."
So, who's got Leopard?
« Reply #12 on: Thu, 07 February 2008, 00:04:50 »
Quote from: xsphat
Web Clips, and Screen Sharing?

From apple.com:






:)

Offline xsphat

  • Posts: 2371
  • Location: 'Sconi FTW
  • Enlightened
    • Dan Newman, Writer
So, who's got Leopard?
« Reply #13 on: Thu, 07 February 2008, 00:20:23 »
Those are cool and all, but I can't foresee the day I'd use either. Give me a few days with it and I bet I'll like it. I'm just picky.

Offline xsphat

  • Posts: 2371
  • Location: 'Sconi FTW
  • Enlightened
    • Dan Newman, Writer
So, who's got Leopard?
« Reply #14 on: Sat, 09 February 2008, 00:47:18 »
I have to say, though the add-0ns make Firefox more usable, Safari 3 is really fast and generally smoother than FF. Any others Geekhackers try it out yet? Thoughts?

Offline xsphat

  • Posts: 2371
  • Location: 'Sconi FTW
  • Enlightened
    • Dan Newman, Writer
So, who's got Leopard?
« Reply #15 on: Mon, 18 February 2008, 13:12:30 »
My favorite feature of Leopard (they must have added it since Tiger never did this) is how every single time I try to restart my computer it crashes. I find this infinitely useful and I would like thank Apple for thinking of the customer by adding a feature such as this.

Offline iMav

  • geekhack creator/founder
  • Thread Starter
  • Location: Valley City, ND
  • "Τα εργαλεία σας είναι σημαντικά."
So, who's got Leopard?
« Reply #16 on: Mon, 18 February 2008, 14:27:54 »
Quote from: xsphat;3083
My favorite feature of Leopard (they must have added it since Tiger never did this) is how every single time I try to restart my computer it crashes. I find this infinitely useful and I would like thank Apple for thinking of the customer by adding a feature such as this.

Sounds like user error.

;)

Offline xsphat

  • Posts: 2371
  • Location: 'Sconi FTW
  • Enlightened
    • Dan Newman, Writer
So, who's got Leopard?
« Reply #17 on: Mon, 18 February 2008, 14:31:46 »
I hit the restart button the same as I did before ...

Offline iMav

  • geekhack creator/founder
  • Thread Starter
  • Location: Valley City, ND
  • "Τα εργαλεία σας είναι σημαντικά."
So, who's got Leopard?
« Reply #18 on: Mon, 18 February 2008, 14:34:08 »
Quote from: xsphat;3087
I hit the restart button the same as I did before ...

Out of curiousity, how did you install Leopard??  (upgrade or did you wipe your computer and do a fresh install?)

Also, do you have the latest software update (it's a HUGE one that address a ton of issues).

Offline xsphat

  • Posts: 2371
  • Location: 'Sconi FTW
  • Enlightened
    • Dan Newman, Writer
So, who's got Leopard?
« Reply #19 on: Mon, 18 February 2008, 14:37:57 »
Just ran software update now and I am current.

I upgraded. Now that you mention it, I think I herd on Mac Geek Gab that users who wiped and installed got better results. My install is just glitchy as hell, think this could be the cause?

Offline iMav

  • geekhack creator/founder
  • Thread Starter
  • Location: Valley City, ND
  • "Τα εργαλεία σας είναι σημαντικά."
So, who's got Leopard?
« Reply #20 on: Mon, 18 February 2008, 14:40:08 »
I always do fresh installs.  Back up your data, wipe, and install fresh.  You're less likely to have problems down the road (regardless of the OS).

Do that, re-apply all the software updates, and let us know if you have better results.

Offline xsphat

  • Posts: 2371
  • Location: 'Sconi FTW
  • Enlightened
    • Dan Newman, Writer
So, who's got Leopard?
« Reply #21 on: Mon, 18 February 2008, 14:53:50 »
I'll try it.

Offline xsphat

  • Posts: 2371
  • Location: 'Sconi FTW
  • Enlightened
    • Dan Newman, Writer
So, who's got Leopard?
« Reply #22 on: Mon, 18 February 2008, 14:55:00 »
could I archive and install to keep my apps?

Offline iMav

  • geekhack creator/founder
  • Thread Starter
  • Location: Valley City, ND
  • "Τα εργαλεία σας είναι σημαντικά."
So, who's got Leopard?
« Reply #23 on: Mon, 18 February 2008, 16:50:54 »
Quote from: xsphat;3092
could I archive and install to keep my apps?

You could...but then you wouldn't be following my recommendation.  :)

Seriously, if you can accommodate the hassle of re-installing all your apps, do a complete fresh install.

Offline xsphat

  • Posts: 2371
  • Location: 'Sconi FTW
  • Enlightened
    • Dan Newman, Writer
So, who's got Leopard?
« Reply #24 on: Mon, 18 February 2008, 17:58:44 »
That's a wicked pain in the butt. Can I back up my browsers with links and saved passwords and everything?

Offline iMav

  • geekhack creator/founder
  • Thread Starter
  • Location: Valley City, ND
  • "Τα εργαλεία σας είναι σημαντικά."
So, who's got Leopard?
« Reply #25 on: Mon, 18 February 2008, 18:03:44 »
Quote from: xsphat;3099
That's a wicked pain in the butt. Can I back up my browsers with links and saved passwords and everything?

Save off your entire home directory.

Offline xsphat

  • Posts: 2371
  • Location: 'Sconi FTW
  • Enlightened
    • Dan Newman, Writer
So, who's got Leopard?
« Reply #26 on: Mon, 18 February 2008, 18:15:23 »
Then install and replace the new one, so does that restore ALL my settings?

Offline karlito

  • Posts: 157
    • http://altitudegame.com
So, who's got Leopard?
« Reply #27 on: Tue, 19 February 2008, 00:30:29 »
i dont know if you apple people have a better way but on windows i just created a bat script that backs up all my known data:

xcopy /v /s /e /k /h /y /i "C:\Documents and Settings\karl\My Documents\karls" "K:\backup\karls"
xcopy /v /s /e /k /h /y /i "C:\Documents and Settings\karl\Application Data" "K:\backup\Application Data"
xcopy /v /s /e /k /h /y /i "C:\downloaded" "K:\backup\downloaded"

where the K: drive is a mapped drive to another one of my computers. It's not very elegant but it works really well... for instance Application Data holds everything that firefox uses so i never loose bookmarks etc and I keep absolutely all my data in my "karls" directory.

So just write a script (it's easy on mac since you have unix) that backsup all the folders that you know has your data onto another computer and then try and use that other computer and see if you forgot something.

Offline xsphat

  • Posts: 2371
  • Location: 'Sconi FTW
  • Enlightened
    • Dan Newman, Writer
So, who's got Leopard?
« Reply #28 on: Tue, 19 February 2008, 00:39:18 »
You're ... smarter than me with this stuff. To me, that looks like something my cat typed.

Offline xsphat

  • Posts: 2371
  • Location: 'Sconi FTW
  • Enlightened
    • Dan Newman, Writer
So, who's got Leopard?
« Reply #29 on: Mon, 03 March 2008, 22:22:47 »
I am now on my girlfriend's computer because I got so sick of Leopard screwing up on me that I am in the process of wiping my HDD and doing a fresh install.

My Dock quits working every day, my Finder freezes constantly some apps like Joost are so broken I can't even reinstall and get them to work. The whole while, Joost runs just fine on this computer (base first run Intel Mac Mini, Leopard installed the same way I did mine).

Plus I get that thing where the computer freezes totally and a pop up says, in every language, that I need to restart my computer, about three to four times a week.

I have every reason in the world to believe that this will solve the problem. This is what everybody says - you need to do a totally fresh install or you're fubar. Gotta go now, she has the Cherry black MX version of the SMK88 and my fingers are starting to hurt already.

ghost

Offline xsphat

  • Posts: 2371
  • Location: 'Sconi FTW
  • Enlightened
    • Dan Newman, Writer
So, who's got Leopard?
« Reply #30 on: Tue, 04 March 2008, 00:26:23 »
I'm back up and running now. The first thing I installed was Office '08 (forgive me, it's industry standard and Word rules). We'll see how this is. I have a feeling it'll run better because I now have all my files back on here and I have an extra 40 GB of space. Yikes, huh?

Does Time Machine erase external HDDs or can I use one with files on it?

Offline bhtooefr

  • Posts: 1624
  • Location: Newark, OH, USA
  • this switch can tick sound of music
    • bhtooefr.org
So, who's got Leopard?
« Reply #31 on: Tue, 04 March 2008, 05:07:29 »
I'm running Leopard on this iBook G4... no problems at all. :)

It's slower than Panther (yeah, Panther. I needed SOMETHING newer, so Leopard it was...,) but it's still decently quick...

Offline iMav

  • geekhack creator/founder
  • Thread Starter
  • Location: Valley City, ND
  • "Τα εργαλεία σας είναι σημαντικά."
So, who's got Leopard?
« Reply #32 on: Tue, 04 March 2008, 07:28:32 »
Quote from: bhtooefr;3406
It's slower than Panther (yeah, Panther. I needed SOMETHING newer, so Leopard it was...,) but it's still decently quick...

I know on the G4 hardware I had, Tiger was significantly faster than Panther.  Didn't keep any of it around to see how they did with Leopard.

Offline xsphat

  • Posts: 2371
  • Location: 'Sconi FTW
  • Enlightened
    • Dan Newman, Writer
So, who's got Leopard?
« Reply #33 on: Wed, 05 March 2008, 23:18:45 »
Alright, after zeroing the HDD and doing a complete fresh install of the OS and my applications, Leopard is running a hundred times better. It still is not as smooth as Tiger, but there are some huge improvements in it.

1. Spotlight in Tiger was a dog. I used Quicksilver instead. Now, in 10.5, Spotlight is so fast and works so well I haven't even installed Quicksilver and I don't plan to. Apple shined on this one.

2. Spaces is really cool. It gets me using the number pad so I don't feel like I'm wasting all those switches. This way, I use 1-4 to select each space.

3. The Dock. It freezes or locks up still a bit more than I would like, but the way folders open is nice and handy. And the downloads folder, been doing it for years but props to Apple for putting it in there.

On the flip side, one of the weirder glitches I was getting from Leopard before I redid it was with the keyboard layout. I bought the Filco and that was the first full sized standard 101 / 104 layout keyboard I used since I installed Leopard the first time. The Enter key on the number pad came up as the Apple key. I changed the layout a couple times and it still read wrong. I took the Filco to work and there (G5 iMac running Tiger) all the keys registered correctly. Now, after the reinstall, everything is normal. I wonder if switching keyboards and layouts all the time messes something up ...

Offline xsphat

  • Posts: 2371
  • Location: 'Sconi FTW
  • Enlightened
    • Dan Newman, Writer
So, who's got Leopard?
« Reply #34 on: Thu, 06 March 2008, 15:02:09 »
One of my favorite features in Spotlight is that if you type a full word in it and hit enter it looks the word up in the dictionary app. As a writer and a college student, that comes in so handy, it's bye bye to Quicksilver for good.