Author Topic: Please give me a push in the right direction..  (Read 2196 times)

Offline ahull0

Please give me a push in the right direction..
« on: Fri, 01 September 2023, 02:10:24 »
Really hard to know where to start with this stuff.. so please send me in the right direction. What I'd really like to have is my old IBM Model M2, but without the 10-key pad. One other requirement is that it needs to be lit - so the key markings are visible in the dark.

I have absolutely NO USE FOR BLING.. So no flashing RGB LED junk. i just want adjustable brightness, maybe choice of color(s).

I'm a retired electronic tech, so not at all worried about soldering a kit together. And quality is fairly important.. no featherweight, flimsy crap.

I see some KBs on AliEx that have sold fairly big numbers. Is there any stuff on Ali worth owning? What about eBay, or other such sites?

Anyway, I'd really appreciate some beginner help. Thanks in advance.

Offline Leslieann

• * Elevated Elder
Re: Please give me a push in the right direction..
« Reply #1 on: Fri, 01 September 2023, 06:32:34 »
Almost all RGB allow you to set a static solid color and set brightness or even turn it off, so if you want any lighting at all there's really no sense in fighting it.

Ali Express and sellers are hit or miss especially if you take the business off there and go private (don't do that), however some sellers/companies who sell there are pretty good, KBDfans, KPRepublic and YMDK. Yes, they all had some issues during Covid, but as far as I know everyone was taken care of by these companies and they have a good, long history otherwise of making good stuff and taking care of customers. Just give them a bit of leeway in terms of communication due to the time and language barrier.

As for what to get,