geekhack Community > New Members

Hello from Denmark!

(1/2) > >>

Winther:
Hello guys!

I am very new to all this keyboard stuff, well the mechanical kinda that is. Have been a gamer for some years now but didnt really know about mechanical keyboards until like a year ago, and I really want one now.. :P
Right now I have my Roccat Isku, and the enter key is screwed up so I want a mechanical keyboard, I have pretty much decided on the Ducky Shine 2 TKL.. Just not sure yet what switch I want, was hoping I might get a little help here. And before you say it, I know its mostly prefference, but since I have only tried Reds and Browns for a short time, I dont know which one to chose.

I bought the Logitech G710+ but was pretty disapointed, in part due to the switch which I had thought would be more tactile (is uses MX browns if anyone here didnt know..) Does anyone know if that is because of the construcion of the G710+ or are they almost identical to all other browns?
I realize that they are manufactured by the same company but if memory serves I think I heard somewhere that manufacturers put their own "spin" on the switches sometimes?

anyways, sorry about the long intro :P

cheers!

Viz:
Say: "Hello geekhack, goodbye money!" :)
Just keep on reading, keep on progressing, keep on learning, and have fun!

Winther:
hehe, yahr thats what im afraid of.. :P

any recomendable topics or sites to read?

and btw where can I find a description of all the Cherry switches? I know about the Black, reds, browns and blues. but i find its hard to find info about greens, clears, whites, dark grays and so on.. :)

rowdy:
Welcome to Geekhack!

The same switch can feel different in different boards for a number of reasons.  The biggest difference is whether switches are plate-mounted or PCB-mounted.  Apart from that you have PCB construction, case construction and keycap construction to consider.