Author Topic: ASETGHNIOP  (Read 18465 times)

Offline ASETNIOP

• ASETNIOP
ASETGHNIOP
« on: Tue, 07 January 2020, 14:56:19 »
Greetings! I'm experimenting with a new layout I've put together and thought I'd share the concept here.  It's a very simple change; for each finger, the home row key becomes the most common letter that is already typed using that finger.  This leads to the following key arrangement, where six of the original home row keys (D,F,J,K,L,;) are swapped (E,T,N,I,O,P):

I'm just getting started, but I thought I'd toss it out here for folks to check out if anyone is interested.  My typing speed dropped from ~90 wpm with QWERTY to ~20 with this new method (I am thinking of calling it the "poinsettia" layout) and is now back up to ~60 wpm after approximately four hours of practice.
« Last Edit: Tue, 07 January 2020, 15:04:25 by ASETNIOP »

Offline ASETNIOP

• ASETNIOP
Re: ASETGHNIOP
« Reply #1 on: Fri, 10 January 2020, 14:09:09 »
Six hours of direct practice along with using it for some coding and my average tested speed is now in the low seventies. 

Probably not particularly interesting, but I'm tracking my progress on a Google spreadsheet:

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1e4wPakQVC5a9u2dCzs9a5dk9nO4EWyy61Hpn_FrTQkM/edit?usp=sharing.

Offline jacethesaltsculptor

• IBM = I Buy Model-M's
« Reply #2 on: Fri, 10 January 2020, 19:24:44 »
This is interesting to watch someones progress with this granularity, I've always wondered how I'd do on another layout, I may someday try it for awhile to see.

It'd probably something like Colemak, I'm not as brave as you.

Unicomp M122 - Unicomp Classic Trackball - IBM Model M13 - IBM Model F122 - IBM Model F Bigfoot - IBM Model F AT - Ducky Shine 3 Yellow

Offline ASETNIOP

• ASETNIOP
« Reply #3 on: Sat, 18 January 2020, 17:01:11 »