Author Topic: Kneeling chairs and other alternate chairs  (Read 22325 times)

Offline LuX

• 🖲️ 🖲️ 🖲️ 🖲️ 🖲️ 🖲️ 🖲️
Kneeling chairs and other alternate chairs
« on: Sat, 27 February 2016, 17:47:51 »
Could't find a good discussion here about this topic, so here goes:
I have recently started to become more aware about my ergonomics and have slowly but surely started to invest time and money into better ergonomic equipment. Reason being that I'm studying to become an IT engineer so I do already and probably will in the future spend a lot of time in front of a monitor.

I've had a bad posture and stiff shoulder for years now, and while I don't have any particular back pain, it doesn't look too healthy, and I'd rather have a working back for years to come. So I've decided it might be a good idea to invest in a proper ergonomic chair. The chair I use now is reeeeally comfortable, but it forces my head and butt forward, while my back curves to the back, my spine making a C shape. Looking around on the internet my eyes got caught on kneeling chairs that supposedly "force" a natural posture. There are other ergonomic chairs as well, but being lazy I think I really need a chair that forces me to sit up straight or else I'm just going to let comfort win over and lean back. I think a kneeling chair might just about do the trick. The good ones are rather expensive (looking at a Varier chair), but if they actually work, I don't mind paying the premium for a niche product. I found them at much more affordable prices on auction sites as well.