Author Topic: Noppoo Choc Mini NES Themed Mod | My 1st Mod | Need Help/Advice  (Read 3634 times)

Offline Bogus Bill

EDIT (27/05/15): Scroll down for "work in progress" pics.

Hé Geeks and Hackers!

Short Intro.
About two years ago I bought two Noppoo Choc Mini Chery MX RED. They've always worked just fine, but lately they both seem to show some minor performance issues. Also, I want to try out other colour switches. Now, since I got two of them and they're most likely to be replaced soon I thought I'd try some modding.

It's my first attempt at modding a keyboard and I could use your help! Thanks in advance!

The Plan.
What I would like to do is make a NES(Nintendo Entertainment System) themed mod. First I only thought of doing a spray 'n' paint job. But when I googled for a bit I found that people also implemented detachable USB cords and it got me thinking about a NES themed detachable cord.

Paintjob.
I took the whole keyboard apart except for the switches and the circuit board, ready for a paint job. I'm not a professional and don't got a lot of money to spend, so I think a few simple cans of matte spray paint would be my way to go. If this is really really stupid of me and there is a better yet not very expansive way, please let me know.
Also, what would be the best way to go with getting the letters, numbers and symbols back on?

Cable Mod.
As I Opened up the board I found that it uses a simple internal USB header as expected since it connects with an USB to my computer. This is easy to convert to a mini-USB. But I'd like to convert it to a male connector from an old NES controller:

I figured this would be the easiest setup because female connecters of this same type already exist as converters to USB:

Would it be possible to craft a internal USB header to NES Male?
Would I be able to just order a NES Female connector to USB (as shown in the second picture) and use it or do I also have to craft that myself? If so, how?