Author Topic: Why QMK?  (Read 4037 times)

Offline jamster

Why QMK?
« on: Thu, 02 July 2020, 00:39:00 »
I keep seeing requests for QMK support when it comes to small-batch keyboards in the Group Buy section.

I've not had to do remaps beyond the most simple of changes, such as LeftControl<->CapsLock, or setting the Fn row away from the default of media control. This might be done in the computer BIOS, the keyboard BIOS, a keyboard-specific program, or OS-level registry remapping.

So I have no experience with QMK or it's alternatives, and am wondering, why is QMK versus some closed source or less common program a big deal? I was thinking that once you get your layout set up, you typically don't change it again, unless you're in some tiny niche user category who likes to constantly experiment with layout optimisation.

Is it that people have lots of other boards that already use QMK, are the alternatives generally just plain terrible to use, or is it some other reason?

An upcoming project of mine will involve QMK, but never having had to dedicate much time to elaborate remapping, I have no preference on the matter.

Offline Applet

Re: Why QMK?
« Reply #1 on: Thu, 02 July 2020, 04:07:52 »
I'd not rely on a closed source stuff in my projects/keebs, who knows if it will still work a few years from now. I will go out of my way to not get something using closed source or obscure firmware (even closed source PCB is usually a no for me if there is no other alternative).

In some cases I can understand that you may not need to reprogram your keyboard (like a full size or TKL), but for me I find new tweaks to the behavior now and then. If my SO borrows my keyboard, she will reprogram it. If my colleague borrows it, he will reprogram it.

There is also a lot of benefit to be able to reuse configs and knowledge learnt from previous keyboard to the new ones, this is pretty easy if all run QMK.