Author Topic: How I Learned to Love the IBM Model M Keyboard... Again!  (Read 6714 times)

Offline jdcarpe

• * Curator
  • Live long, and prosper.
How I Learned to Love the IBM Model M Keyboard... Again!
« on: Thu, 13 February 2014, 15:14:51 »
How I Learned to Love the IBM Model M Keyboard... Again!

or,

Why Bolt Modding is a Valuable Service

- I -

My first experience with the IBM Model M keyboard was in high school. The year was 1989, and I was a sophomore, taking a Computer Science class which was mostly populated with seniors looking to get their "computer" credit so they could graduate. We were learning how to create simplistic programs using Turbo Pascal. The PCs we were using were brand new IBM PS/2 models, complete with the Model M keyboard. Before this, the only computer I had been exposed to in school was the Commodore 64 used in my 7th grade Computer Literacy class. Side note: that class was taught by a football coach, who knew very little about computers. I ended up "teaching" most of my peers what they learned that year, as I had a Sanyo XT-clone luggable at home, and had used my trusty TI-99/4A to learn how to write simple BASIC code a few years before. What I remember most about my high school Computer Science class, besides the cheerleader who sat next to me and "let" me do her work for her, was that awesome keyboard. It had removable keycap tops, and we used to prank the hunt-and-peck typists by swapping the 'A' and 'S' keycaps.

- II -

This has nothing to do with the Model M.