Author Topic: Troubleshooting ADB keyboards?  (Read 516 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Wumbologist

  • Thread Starter
  • Posts: 9
Troubleshooting ADB keyboards?
« on: Sat, 09 February 2019, 15:25:19 »
I have two AEK IIs and a IIgs keyboard. I used to have a working ADB converter but have misplaced it. I tried making a new one (https://github.com/qmk/qmk_firmware/tree/master/keyboards/converter/adb_usb) but accidentally crossed the wires while doing so. When I plugged in the boards with the bad converter they were unresponsive and the three green LEDs never lit up. I've double checked now and am sure that I've made the converter correctly, and when I plug it in the three green LEDs on the board briefly light up (just as they did with the working converter) but none of the keys register.

I'm afraid I might've bricked my boards with a bad converter? Is there a way I can exhaustively test my boards to make sure they're alright, such as with a logic probe(https://www.amazon.com/dp/B000Z9HAP4/ref=cm_sw_r_tw_dp_U_x_0p0xCb119W417)? I've already done a little testing with my probe to ensure that current is reaching the switches and that the switches are closing the circuit, but how to test the chips and other components on the board is where I'm stumped.
« Last Edit: Sat, 09 February 2019, 15:30:56 by Wumbologist »

Offline rgviva

  • Posts: 3
Re: Troubleshooting ADB keyboards?
« Reply #1 on: Sun, 10 February 2019, 01:22:00 »
i made the same mistake as you (i swapped the wires shown on the connector diagram) and i thought the board was fried. After some trial and error i found that my circuit was built wrong (i misidentified the pins on the arduino board). I think the board has some polarity protection - as mine worked ok after i wired everything correctly.

Also make sure you are using the correct voltage - since some arduino board have a jumper you need to set.

Offline Wumbologist

  • Thread Starter
  • Posts: 9
Re: Troubleshooting ADB keyboards?
« Reply #2 on: Sun, 10 February 2019, 02:56:42 »
Hmm that's a bit of concerning news since I'm fairly certain I've wired up my new converter correctly. I'm using a 3.3v ProMicro which has worked for me in the past making various other IBM and Apple converters. I used a Teensy 2 for my old ADB converter, but as I said before it's been misplaced. If your's is working and mine's not, then perhaps we swapped different wires and your mistake was okay yet mine was lethal?

Here's some pictures:
https://imgur.com/a/gPrKzFo

Offline rgviva

  • Posts: 3
Re: Troubleshooting ADB keyboards?
« Reply #3 on: Sun, 10 February 2019, 03:33:44 »
https://geekhack.org/index.php?topic=14290.0

"You are cheap and use Pro Micro got from China? OK, but confirm it is 5V/16MHz one hundred times before you ask here.
Perhaps, you may need to fix some sloppy variants by shorting solder jumper J1.
"

Offline Wumbologist

  • Thread Starter
  • Posts: 9
Re: Troubleshooting ADB keyboards?
« Reply #4 on: Sun, 10 February 2019, 06:12:15 »
I'm certain mine's 5V/16Mhz. It was labeled as such when I purchased it, I've successfully used this to make a 4704 converter which has the same requirements, and I've also measured it at 5.12V with my multimeter. Though it might be worth mentioning that the QMK GitHub page doesn't have the big bold message about this like the geekhack page. Though it does label VCC as being 5V in the diagram. Something that people might easily overlook.

However! This did make me take a take look at my local branch and for some mysterious reason the config.h file had that data bit set to 1. So my ProMicro has been listening on PD1, not PD0 this whole time. I set the config.h file back and I was able to type this reply out on my IIgs keyboard with orange alps.

Offline rgviva

  • Posts: 3
Re: Troubleshooting ADB keyboards?
« Reply #5 on: Sun, 10 February 2019, 12:06:36 »
Happy to hear you resolved the problem  ;D