Author Topic: How do I add media keys to my Filco  (Read 9997 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline NorrisB

  • Thread Starter
  • Posts: 530
How do I add media keys to my Filco
« on: Sun, 29 April 2012, 18:48:08 »
Id like to assign Page up and Page down as volume up or down, how do I go about doing that?

Offline fstop

  • Posts: 302
How do I add media keys to my Filco
« Reply #1 on: Sun, 29 April 2012, 19:52:24 »
You could try using some third party software. I think popular ones I've seen are Sharpkeys or Autohotkey. Even though they have their downfalls I don't think there's any other way to do it.
CM Storm Quickfire MX Reds
CM Storm Quickfire MX Blues
Filco Majestouch-2  MX Browns
RealForce 87uw uniform 45g

Offline fohat.digs

  • * Elevated Elder
  • Posts: 6473
  • Location: 35°55'N, 83°53'W
  • weird funny old guy
How do I add media keys to my Filco
« Reply #2 on: Sun, 29 April 2012, 20:21:52 »
I have had good luck with Key Tweak.
"It's 110, but it doesn't feel it to me, right. If anybody goes down. Everybody was so worried yesterday about you and they never mentioned me. I'm up here sweating like a dog. They don’t think about me. This is hard work.
Do you feel the breeze? I don't want anybody going on me. We need every voter. I don't care about you. I just want your vote. I don't care."
- Donald Trump - Las Vegas 2024-06-09

Offline shawn o

  • Posts: 443
  • Location: Minneapolis, MN
How do I add media keys to my Filco
« Reply #3 on: Sun, 29 April 2012, 20:32:25 »
I use Autohotkey for volume control and it works great. I use the right control key and up and down arrow. Even has a little window that pops up showing volume when I'm adjusting it!

http://www.autohotkey.com/community/viewtopic.php?t=49219

Offline Squelos

  • Posts: 153
How do I add media keys to my Filco
« Reply #4 on: Sun, 29 April 2012, 20:49:24 »
Well sharkeys and keytweak wont let you assign multiple keys to an action. SO you cant use something like Ctrl + page up to increase the volume.

Offline snowboarder3

  • Posts: 316
How do I add media keys to my Filco
« Reply #5 on: Sun, 29 April 2012, 21:28:20 »
autohotkey is best for something like this. I have pgup/dn backspace and enter respectively, but ctrl+pgup/dn executes the normal key

Offline Nunez

  • Posts: 166
  • Location: Australia
  • BACK!
How do I add media keys to my Filco
« Reply #6 on: Mon, 30 April 2012, 00:22:53 »
Most media players let you make your own hotkeys, besides WMP and not sure about itunes.. never used it. But Winamp/foobar2000 let you make your own and they are much better media players imo.
I miss Ripster :(
HHKB Pro 2 || KBC Poker || Filco MJ2

Offline zirb

  • Posts: 266
  • Location: Germany
How do I add media keys to my Filco
« Reply #7 on: Mon, 30 April 2012, 06:47:53 »
Quote from: Nunez;586092
Most media players let you make your own hotkeys, besides WMP and not sure about itunes.. never used it. But Winamp/foobar2000 let you make your own and they are much better media players imo.

Yep, that's the way to go!

But for system volume I think autohotkey is great.

Offline Phil21

  • Posts: 40
How do I add media keys to my Filco
« Reply #8 on: Mon, 30 April 2012, 11:12:47 »
Autohotkey is great for volume.

If you need dedicated (hardwired) media buttons get the Filco Camo :)

Offline Squelos

  • Posts: 153
How do I add media keys to my Filco
« Reply #9 on: Mon, 30 April 2012, 14:09:57 »
Yeah, I use foobar, but controlling the system volume would be great. A mute button is just awesome IMO.

Offline wasdkeyboards

  • * Commercial Vendor
  • Posts: 59
How do I add media keys to my Filco
« Reply #10 on: Tue, 01 May 2012, 03:46:04 »
I use AutoHotkey as well. Here's what I use for media control:

Code: [Select]
AppsKey:: Send {AppsKey} ;Allow AppsKey (Menu key) to function normally if pressed by itself
AppsKey & Ins:: Send {Media_Play_Pause} ;Play/Pause
AppsKey & Del:: Send {Media_Stop} ;Stop
AppsKey & End:: Send {Media_Next} ;Next Track
AppsKey & Home:: Send {Media_Prev} ;Previous Track
AppsKey & PgUp:: Send {Volume_Up} ;Volume Up
AppsKey & PgDn:: Send {Volume_Down} ;Voume Down
AppsKey & BS:: Send {Volume_Mute} ;Toggle Mute On/Off

AppsKey is the "Menu" key. The AppsKey, for some reason, does not work without using the "&" function. Using & causes AHK to wait until an assigned combination of keys is pressed, effectively disabling the AppsKey for normal use and makes into an "Fn" key. The first line of code lets you use the key as normal. You can remove it if you want to disable the Menu key and only have it work when pressed with a matching hotkey.

OSD (on screen display) scripts are also available for volume control and media playback. This is a simple OSD for plain messages. But there are more complex ones for finding and display the volume level along with a volume bar.
Code: [Select]
OSD(text)
{
   #Persistent
   Progress, hide  W400 b zh0 CW000000 FM16 CTFFFFFF,, %text%, AutoHotKeyProgressBar, Backlash BRK
   WinSet, TransColor, FFFFFF 255, AutoHotKeyProgressBar
   Progress, show
   SetTimer, RemoveToolTip, 3000

   Return

RemoveToolTip:
   SetTimer, RemoveToolTip, Off
   Progress, Off
   return
}

With the OSD code in your script, the following would simply display a box on your screen with the words: "Hello World" in it everytime you press Ctrl + H.
Code: [Select]
^h::OSD("Hello World")

This last bit of code is something I made to double the function of Scroll Lock as a Disable Windows Key button. Since Scroll Lock is pretty much never used, you can take advantage of the LED indicator to double as an indicator for Windows Lock. This does not remove the Scroll Lock function, so when it's active, Scroll Lock is still on.

Code: [Select]
ScrollLock::
If (GetKeyState("ScrollLock","T"))
{
SetScrollLockState, Off
;Return Windows key to full function
Hotkey Rwin, DoNothing, off
Hotkey Lwin, DoNothing, off
Hotkey Rwin Up, DoNothing, off
Hotkey Lwin Up, DoNothing, off
OSD("Windows Key Enabled")
}
Else
{
SetScrollLockState, On
; Complete Windows Key Disable
Hotkey Rwin, DoNothing, on
Hotkey LWin, DoNothing, on
;For Soft Disable Windows to allow Windows key shortcuts
;Hotkey ~Rwin Up, DoNothing, on
;Hotkey ~Lwin Up, DoNothing, on
OSD("Windows Key Disabled")
}
DoNothing:
Return

EDIT: Just in case anyone was wondering, any text following a semi-colon ";" is considered a comment/note and has no function.
« Last Edit: Tue, 01 May 2012, 03:50:03 by wasdkeyboards »
Questions and comments, please visit our Geekhack: WASD Keyboards Vendor Forum
WASDKeyboards.com - Custom Mechanical Keyboards

Offline zirb

  • Posts: 266
  • Location: Germany
How do I add media keys to my Filco
« Reply #11 on: Tue, 01 May 2012, 06:21:34 »
wow thank you mr. wasd! :)

Very usefull stuff in there!