Author Topic: Underglow on KC60 with QMK?  (Read 3338 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline hexmonkey

  • Thread Starter
  • Posts: 9
Underglow on KC60 with QMK?
« on: Sun, 12 June 2016, 11:39:27 »
I've been working on learning the QMK firmware and reflashing my aliexpress-sourced KC60 for the past few days. I've got the general keymap and layers working, and now I'm trying to follow the instructions in Github for programming the underglow and I've hit a wall, hoping someone here can help.

I'm pretty certain the layer and programming is at least partly correct, because when I hit the keys that are supposed to control the light strip, no letters register in keyboardtester.com, but nothing at all happens with the light strip when I hit those keys. I'm not entirely certain I have the right wiring, there is no labeling on the board but it seems pretty straightforward from the traces. The strip blinks briefly when I connect the USB cable to the board, so I know it's at least getting power.

I've connected the WS2812 power to a pad supplying 5v from the usb port. DI is connected to one of two pads broken out on the board that go to PF4 and PF5 on the atmega32u4, according to this pinout diagram. The ground goes to the pad right next to the broken-out pin pads.

My keymap: http://pastebin.com/YRyH9ra9

Offline yangdigi

  • Posts: 79
  • Location: China
Re: Underglow on KC60 with QMK?
« Reply #1 on: Sun, 12 June 2016, 19:57:52 »
The pin your DI connected to seems to be PB2 on KC60. It is also used for CAPSLOCK LED.
Maybe you can try this one(the left of R3) for DI. It is PE0 and easy to solder. I use it on GH60 revCHN with QMK and all things work well.
« Last Edit: Sun, 12 June 2016, 19:59:37 by yangdigi »

Offline hexmonkey

  • Thread Starter
  • Posts: 9
Re: Underglow on KC60 with QMK?
« Reply #2 on: Sun, 12 June 2016, 20:23:28 »
The pin your DI connected to seems to be PB2 on KC60. It is also used for CAPSLOCK LED.
Maybe you can try this one(the left of R3) for DI. It is PE0 and easy to solder. I use it on GH60 revCHN with QMK and all things work well.
(Attachment Link)

Sorry, that was a confusing photo with the wire in the way. Here's another shot that's more clear.

Also, there's no CAPSLOCK LED function available on this board as far as I'm aware.

The answer is actually that I forgot to declare rgblight_init in the kc60.c file. I recompiled with that properly enabled and it's working now. I'll post more detail shortly.

Offline robotmaxtron

  • Posts: 107
  • Location: Austin,TX
Re: Underglow on KC60 with QMK?
« Reply #3 on: Sun, 12 June 2016, 23:06:52 »
Oh you got it working?

Offline hexmonkey

  • Thread Starter
  • Posts: 9
Re: Underglow on KC60 with QMK?
« Reply #4 on: Mon, 13 June 2016, 01:18:38 »
Oh you got it working?

I did but I shouldn't have needed to do what eventually fixed it. Apparently it wasn't my fault after all, it was a weirdness in the firmware.

Not sure if it was an oversight or a bug, but the newest version of the firmware fixed the weirdness. All you should need to adjust are config.h, the Makefile, and your keymap (so you have keys that control the underglow function).