Author Topic: [IC] DSA Japan Basics  (Read 4704 times)

Offline 2Moons

[IC] DSA Japan Basics
« on: Sat, 02 November 2019, 19:52:44 »
Hello Geekhack,

This is my first attempt at a keycap set. I call it Japan Basics.

230162-0

Design and Inspiration
This idea started after seeing the designs of GMK Laser, GMK Bento, and others. When I saw those layouts, I noticed that they were missing keys that would work on a Japanese keyboard. I live and work in Japan, as such, I use a Japanese style keyboard every day. As an enthusiast, how nice would it be to create a basic set to enjoy at work or at home. Not just for looks, this basic set will allow people from Japan and around the world to make functional Japanese keyboards. In addition, I think a Japanese design in SA or DSA might be new and interesting for the community.

I present to you the latest layouts of Japan Basics:

Base Kit
3U and 4U spacebar for 60 and 66 percent layouts. With or without Hiragana, you decide.

230164-1

Western Addon
This is an ANSI addon for standard layouts.

230166-2

Numpad Addon
Standard Numpad.

Group Buy/Vendors
Japan:
US:
EU:
Oceania:

Renders Go Here

IC Google Form Goes Here

Current and Next Steps
1. Emailed Renders to Signature Plastics
2. Received Quote
3. 3U and 4U spacebar unavailable in SA but available in DSA
4. Waiting for Quote

1. Get final quote
2. Talk to vendors
3. More renders
4. IC Google Form
5. Adjust Final Fonts
« Last Edit: Sun, 17 November 2019, 06:28:35 by 2Moons »

Offline Lil

• designedbydark
Re: [IC] JIS Layout
« Reply #1 on: Sat, 02 November 2019, 20:53:50 »
I like the top layout, what size are the spacebars though?

Offline 2Moons

« Reply #2 on: Sat, 02 November 2019, 21:09:41 »