Author Topic: Oh noes, not another 'first mech keyboard' thread! D:  (Read 1520 times)

Offline asbestos

Oh noes, not another 'first mech keyboard' thread! D:
« on: Sat, 27 August 2011, 19:51:47 »
Hi everyone, I've searched a lot around here and other sites but I can't seem to find anything that really matches what I want, so I've come here in case someone knows whether what I want exists.  Please don't eat me… [COLOR=#FFFFF]this is a long post.[/COLOR]

I've recently had RSI problems related to keyboard use, where I've always had rubber domes.  I'm hoping that switching to a mech will help alleviate the stress on my fingers and stop me from bottoming out and hurting them in that way too, especially since I'm going into computing and I'll be spending a lot of time typing up code.

Here's my criteria:

- First off, I live in the Big Land Down Under so shipping costs will be an issue.  I'm also a student so I'm not really looking for a very expensive keyboard.  $150-200 is probably my uppermost limit, unless something out there is really amazing.  I don't care much for backlighting - it's cool, but not necessary and probably looks ugly on a keyboard with long travel.

- USB is preferred because I don't own/use any computers with PS/2 ports… Shame PS/2 is going the way of the dinosaurs, but every product must bow to consumerism in the end I suppose.  Having USB ports down on the keyboard is nice, but I've read that they can be quite slow depending on the keyboard (HHKB, Das apparently if it isn't powered).

- I don't really mind whether the switches are ALPS/Cherry Blues/Browns/Buckling spring, but I don't want a linear switch - I need something with longer travel than scissor switches, and tactile, if not clicky as well, feel.  I don't do much gaming (What's this? A computer student that doesn't game much? BURN THE HERETIC) so having a very clicky one doesn't bother me in that respect. Nothing too heavy though - read below.