Author Topic: Help with choosing my first mechanical keyboard  (Read 1583 times)

Offline mereblood

Help with choosing my first mechanical keyboard
« on: Thu, 13 October 2011, 14:05:26 »
Hello all,

I just recently stumbled upon mechanical keyboards and was instantly interested. I work in IT and am always on a computer all day, so I figured why not spend all my time typing on a nice keyboard instead of the crappy ones that come from the manufacturers. I like the clicky noise that the Cherry MX Blues make, and also would like the keyboard to have a ten key. Nkey rollover is not that important to me, I do play FPS and RTS games but I rarely am pressing more than 4 buttons at once. I want something that is well built and will last me years to come. I don't need any fancy features like back lighting or media controls, but they would be a plus if they were properly implemented and didn't subtract from the overall keyboard quality.

I have been lurking on these forums for the past few days trying to make a decision, but some input would be welcome. The keyboards I have seen that seem to fit my criteria are the das ultimate model S, the wasdkeyboard, the steelseries-7g, and the one that probably has caught my attention the most on this forum is the filco, but I can't seem to find it anymore, has it been discontinued and replaced with Leopold?

Any input would be appreciated.

Offline noodles256

• le legendary
« Reply #1 on: Thu, 13 October 2011, 14:06:03 »
wlcm
AF | Ducky YOTD |

Offline Urglifast

« Reply #2 on: Thu, 13 October 2011, 14:30:16 »
The Das is a winner in my book.  i thoroughly enjoyed mine, the only reason i don't have it anymore is because i needed more space on my desk so i went tenkeyless

Offline itlnstln

« Reply #3 on: Thu, 13 October 2011, 14:32:08 »
You can get Filcos on Amazon.  They are a storefront for The Keyboard Co. who is a vendor from the UK with a subforum here.

Offline czarek

• Keep the momentum going!
    • FalbaTech