Author Topic: Bug Reports  (Read 327291 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline The_Ed

  • Posts: 1350
  • Location: MN - USA
  • Asperger's... SQUIRREL! I'm Anal Retentive *****!
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #200 on: Mon, 11 March 2013, 14:28:02 »
THANK YOU rknize! Those have been bugging me since R00TW0RM. Now the only things left are the "moderate" menu, and not being able to go to the last post of a thread from your notifications page if you've already read that thread.
Reaper "frelled" me... Twice... Did he "frell" you too?... *brohug*
I'm camping for a week, and moving twice in a month. I'll get back to you when I can (If I don't then just send me another PM).
R.I.P.ster

Offline rknize

  • * Administrator
  • Posts: 1717
  • Location: Chicago
    • metaruss
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #201 on: Mon, 11 March 2013, 14:37:30 »
I believe that the moderate menu thing is coming from a module that I installed very early on to let us easily add menu items.  It is extremely over complicated with a bunch of crazy features and likely explains this random behavior.  We are going to rip it out and just modify the template code directly to give us the menu options that we want.

As for the last issue...yeah this is a more subtle problem with how SMF is doing the query.  There are a couple of places where we'd like to make query changes to alter the forums behavior.  This is more of a wishlist thing.
Russ

Offline The_Ed

  • Posts: 1350
  • Location: MN - USA
  • Asperger's... SQUIRREL! I'm Anal Retentive *****!
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #202 on: Mon, 11 March 2013, 14:55:36 »
This is the difference that I can see.

Code: [Select]
<td>
<span class="smalltext">Mon, 11 March 2013, 14:37:30<br>
by <a href="http://geekhack.org/index.php?action=profile;u=16512">rknize</a></span>
</td>

Code: [Select]
<td class="lastpost">
<p><strong>Last post</strong>  by <a href="http://geekhack.org/index.php?action=profile;u=22007">esoomenona</a><br>
in <a href="http://geekhack.org/index.php?topic=33105.msg820083;boardseen#new" title="Re: Feature Requests">Re: Feature Requests</a><br>
on Mon, 11 March 2013, 14:43:36</p>
</td>

class="lastpost" dynamically fills the td right? So why can't this be put into the notifications page? Or every page in fact?
Reaper "frelled" me... Twice... Did he "frell" you too?... *brohug*
I'm camping for a week, and moving twice in a month. I'll get back to you when I can (If I don't then just send me another PM).
R.I.P.ster

Offline rknize

  • * Administrator
  • Posts: 1717
  • Location: Chicago
    • metaruss
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #203 on: Mon, 11 March 2013, 15:17:18 »
Oh, I completely misunderstood what you were asking for.  You just want the shortcut in Notifications...yeah that should be easy.
Russ

Offline rknize

  • * Administrator
  • Posts: 1717
  • Location: Chicago
    • metaruss
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #204 on: Mon, 11 March 2013, 16:19:57 »
The link that I think you are asking for is already present there in the form of a "new" icon.  It shows up to the right of the topic description, which is the legacy location.  I can move it over to the left, just like in the usual thread listing.  Is this that you are asking for?  Threads with no new posts won't have this icon at all.
Russ

Offline The_Ed

  • Posts: 1350
  • Location: MN - USA
  • Asperger's... SQUIRREL! I'm Anal Retentive *****!
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #205 on: Mon, 11 March 2013, 16:41:32 »
No.



On the front page I can go to the last post (or the last post I read) by clicking a link. Everywhere else (including my notifications) I can go to the last post (or the last post I read) by clicking the "new" icon - but the "new" icon only exists if I have not read all the posts. If I want to go to the end of a thread that I have already read I have to click the link to go to the first page, then click the link to go to the last page, then hit the "end" button on my keyboard... That is very annoying when you have to do it hundreds/thousands of times...

Could you make the entire forum (or at least my notifications for now) work like the front page? I actually like the "new" icon on the right in my notifications, so leave it as it is.
« Last Edit: Mon, 11 March 2013, 16:45:12 by The_Ed »
Reaper "frelled" me... Twice... Did he "frell" you too?... *brohug*
I'm camping for a week, and moving twice in a month. I'll get back to you when I can (If I don't then just send me another PM).
R.I.P.ster

Offline rknize

  • * Administrator
  • Posts: 1717
  • Location: Chicago
    • metaruss
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #206 on: Mon, 11 March 2013, 17:01:05 »
Heh...I never use that feature, but I understand what you mean now.
Russ

Offline rknize

  • * Administrator
  • Posts: 1717
  • Location: Chicago
    • metaruss
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #207 on: Mon, 11 March 2013, 17:35:14 »
The reason for the difference seems to be that the profile management features are driven by the SMF core and not the template.  I've updated the core code to make it look more like the SMF 2.0 default template output.
Russ

Offline The_Ed

  • Posts: 1350
  • Location: MN - USA
  • Asperger's... SQUIRREL! I'm Anal Retentive *****!
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #208 on: Mon, 11 March 2013, 17:53:44 »
Excellent! Now make that the default for all boards so that I don't have to click the link to go to the last page, then hit the "end" button. After that you will only have the "moderate" menu bug, and you say you're going to rip that out soon as well. Of course features will continually be asked for and worked on after the bugs are all taken care of.
Reaper "frelled" me... Twice... Did he "frell" you too?... *brohug*
I'm camping for a week, and moving twice in a month. I'll get back to you when I can (If I don't then just send me another PM).
R.I.P.ster

Offline rknize

  • * Administrator
  • Posts: 1717
  • Location: Chicago
    • metaruss
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #209 on: Mon, 11 March 2013, 20:30:27 »
Once again, I do not grok what you are saying.  Why not just click the icon?

Russ

Offline The_Ed

  • Posts: 1350
  • Location: MN - USA
  • Asperger's... SQUIRREL! I'm Anal Retentive *****!
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #210 on: Mon, 11 March 2013, 21:36:49 »
...

How long has that been there?... I could swear there was only a checkbox there... :-[ (My screen has it more than 2 inches away so I didn't associate it I guess...)

I just thought of something else then - Page links in our notifications just like in the boards.
Reaper "frelled" me... Twice... Did he "frell" you too?... *brohug*
I'm camping for a week, and moving twice in a month. I'll get back to you when I can (If I don't then just send me another PM).
R.I.P.ster

Offline rknize

  • * Administrator
  • Posts: 1717
  • Location: Chicago
    • metaruss
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #211 on: Tue, 12 March 2013, 00:11:17 »
OK, the custom menu module has been painfully ripped out and replaced with custom menu items in the base code.  No one should notice anything different.  Let me know if you still see the "Moderate" menu bug.
Russ

Offline rknize

  • * Administrator
  • Posts: 1717
  • Location: Chicago
    • metaruss
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #212 on: Tue, 12 March 2013, 00:35:34 »
I also added "Show Posts" to the "Profile" menu.
Russ

Offline shadewolf

  • Posts: 155
  • Location: CT, USA
  • ಠ_ಠ
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #213 on: Thu, 14 March 2013, 15:56:13 »
I've experienced this previously, but only realized what was actually happening yesterday...

I have the Classifieds forum set up to Notify on new threads, but a few times I've received notification mails for threads that don't seem to exist - turns out it's actually threads that require approval. Once the thread is approved, a second notification email is sent, and the thread is visible.

Anyways it's not a big deal to me, but figured I'd report it to get it on the list.

Offline rknize

  • * Administrator
  • Posts: 1717
  • Location: Chicago
    • metaruss
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #214 on: Thu, 14 March 2013, 16:12:20 »
Has anyone seen the moderate menu bug in the past 48 hours or so?
Russ

Offline SmallFry

  • ** Moderator Emeritus
  • Posts: 3887
  • Location: Wisconsin, USA
  • Leaving 6/15; returning 6/22 or so.
Re: Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #215 on: Thu, 14 March 2013, 22:42:40 »
Has anyone seen the moderate menu bug in the past 48 hours or so?
Not recently. I'll keep you in the loop. If you guys want to permanently put it there... that would be swell :P

Offline infiniti

  • I <3 KB
  • * Senior Moderator
  • Posts: 2392
  • Location: Thrilla, Manila, Philippines
  • Bob was here
    • PM me and ask for a custom title!
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #216 on: Sat, 30 March 2013, 04:37:42 »
I don't seem to receive email notifications anymore.  The last notification I got was last Thursday.  :(

I checked my Notification settings and it is set as:
  • Turn notification on when you post or reply to a topic. >> Checked
  • When sending notification of a reply to a topic, send the post in the email (but please don't reply to these emails.) >> Not checked
  • For topics and boards I've requested notification on, notify me:  >> Instantly
  • For topics and boards I've requested notification on, notify me of: >> Replies and moderation

Any help would be much appreciated.  :)

Offline Atakp

  • Posts: 88
  • Location: CT, USA
Bug Reports
« Reply #217 on: Sat, 30 March 2013, 16:23:00 »
I don't seem to receive email notifications anymore.  The last notification I got was last Thursday.  :(

I checked my Notification settings and it is set as:
  • Turn notification on when you post or reply to a topic. >> Checked
  • When sending notification of a reply to a topic, send the post in the email (but please don't reply to these emails.) >> Not checked
  • For topics and boards I've requested notification on, notify me:  >> Instantly
  • For topics and boards I've requested notification on, notify me of: >> Replies and moderation

Any help would be much appreciated.  :)

I've stopped receiving notifications as well. Checked all my settings and my email spam box to no avail

Offline n1ko

  • Posts: 3
  • Location: Finland
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #218 on: Mon, 01 April 2013, 04:49:36 »
The email problem mentioned here bite me to. It's related to a misconfiguration in the mailserver geekhack uses combined with mail servers configured with security precautions.

Apr  1 12:27:16 salaliitto postfix/smtpd[7426]: NOQUEUE: reject: RCPT from runt-0.uhhh.org[65.111.241.202]: 450 4.7.1 <meg.se-test.org>: Helo command rejected: Host not found; from=<mods@geekhack.org> to=<xxx@yyy.com> proto=ESMTP helo=<meg.se-test.org>

The domain "meg.se-test.org" isn't in global nameservers and dropped because of "reject_unknown_helo_hostname" configuration in Postfix.

The fix? Geekhack guys should make their emailserver rfc-compliant, or you should drop the directive from your mailserver. If you cant affect the mailserver you are using you are out of luck. Gmail etc. could be used as a workaround for the time being.

Offline Megaweapon

  • Posts: 185
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #219 on: Mon, 15 April 2013, 13:55:53 »
Are any of you guys dealing with the popup to take you to your inbox if there is a new message not working?

Worse than that.  I've never seen a popup for this (even after disabling popup block for the site).  Maybe it's because I'm using the "Nostalgia" theme, but there doesn't appear to be ANY indication that I have a new PM (popup or otherwise).
Ancer Research Groop DFK191ABA11 IBM Model M13 Part 92G7461 (white) Rosewill RK-9000
Matias Tactile Pro 3 Apple Extended Keyboard II (ALPS)
Rosewill RK-9000I

Offline rknize

  • * Administrator
  • Posts: 1717
  • Location: Chicago
    • metaruss
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #220 on: Mon, 15 April 2013, 13:58:05 »
Are you using Tapatalk?
Russ

Offline Megaweapon

  • Posts: 185
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #221 on: Mon, 15 April 2013, 14:17:10 »
Are you using Tapatalk?

No.  At this moment:  Firefox on OS X

Previously witnessed it on SeaMonkey under both Windows and Linux.

Ancer Research Groop DFK191ABA11 IBM Model M13 Part 92G7461 (white) Rosewill RK-9000
Matias Tactile Pro 3 Apple Extended Keyboard II (ALPS)
Rosewill RK-9000I

Offline rknize

  • * Administrator
  • Posts: 1717
  • Location: Chicago
    • metaruss
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #222 on: Mon, 15 April 2013, 14:36:20 »
So you don't use Tapatalk at all?  I have seen the TT plugin clear the PM notification before the web interface gets a chance to see it.
Russ

Offline Megaweapon

  • Posts: 185
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #223 on: Mon, 15 April 2013, 14:54:12 »
So you don't use Tapatalk at all?

Never

-- Edit --

Complete lack of notification seems to be related to the top part of the page being collapsed/hidden (the part that shows your avatar with "Hello [username]").  With that part expanded I see "Messages [1]" when I get a new message.

I don't get a popup, either way however.
« Last Edit: Mon, 15 April 2013, 14:58:19 by Megaweapon »
Ancer Research Groop DFK191ABA11 IBM Model M13 Part 92G7461 (white) Rosewill RK-9000
Matias Tactile Pro 3 Apple Extended Keyboard II (ALPS)
Rosewill RK-9000I

Offline rknize

  • * Administrator
  • Posts: 1717
  • Location: Chicago
    • metaruss
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #224 on: Mon, 15 April 2013, 15:35:26 »
Well, that's interesting.  I run with it expanded because there is stuff there that I need to see.  I'll look into it when have a chance.
Russ

Offline Megaweapon

  • Posts: 185
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #225 on: Mon, 22 April 2013, 17:09:13 »
Well, that's interesting.  I run with it expanded because there is stuff there that I need to see.  I'll look into it when have a chance.

I'm getting the popup now.

Thanks
Ancer Research Groop DFK191ABA11 IBM Model M13 Part 92G7461 (white) Rosewill RK-9000
Matias Tactile Pro 3 Apple Extended Keyboard II (ALPS)
Rosewill RK-9000I

Offline SpAmRaY

  • NOT a Moderator
  • * Certified Spammer
  • Posts: 14655
  • Location: \(_o)/
  • because reasons.......
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #226 on: Thu, 09 May 2013, 22:03:52 »
Not sure if it is a bug or just tapatalk being dumb but normally if click a forum link from inside tapatalk it goes to that page with in tapatalk but tonight it is wanting to open a browser instead

Offline rknize

  • * Administrator
  • Posts: 1717
  • Location: Chicago
    • metaruss
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #227 on: Fri, 10 May 2013, 11:58:54 »
I have seen this in the past with Tapatalk.  I don't know why it randomly can happen.  Does it happen for any forum link?
Russ

Offline SpAmRaY

  • NOT a Moderator
  • * Certified Spammer
  • Posts: 14655
  • Location: \(_o)/
  • because reasons.......
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #228 on: Fri, 10 May 2013, 12:43:29 »
I have seen this in the past with Tapatalk.  I don't know why it randomly can happen.  Does it happen for any forum link?

I'll try it some more later and report back, I normally only use tapatalk everywhere else but at work.

test for later

http://geekhack.org/index.php?topic=33106.0

http://geekhack.org/index.php?board=59.0

http://geekhack.org/index.php?topic=34585.msg885515#new

Offline domoaligato

  • * Exquisite Elder
  • Posts: 1662
  • Location: USA
  • All your base are belong to us!
    • All your base are belong to us!
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #229 on: Sun, 12 May 2013, 23:06:09 »
I am seeing a massive lag in regards to email notifications. As a example the cc 4 grabs thread. I have subscribed to it. I did not get a email for almost a full day after Cc's post. I missed the sale entirely. If knowing my email carrier helps. It is gmail.

Offline rknize

  • * Administrator
  • Posts: 1717
  • Location: Chicago
    • metaruss
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #230 on: Mon, 13 May 2013, 14:21:30 »
I use the nostalgia theme and whenever I click on a sub-forum or a thread, the screen flashes white and then loads the page.  Not sure if there is anything that can be done to remedy this, but I have sensitive eyes and find it a bit irritating.

Fixed now.
Russ

Offline SpAmRaY

  • NOT a Moderator
  • * Certified Spammer
  • Posts: 14655
  • Location: \(_o)/
  • because reasons.......
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #231 on: Mon, 13 May 2013, 14:23:49 »
I have seen this in the past with Tapatalk.  I don't know why it randomly can happen.  Does it happen for any forum link?

I'll try it some more later and report back, I normally only use tapatalk everywhere else but at work.

test for later

http://geekhack.org/index.php?topic=33106.0

http://geekhack.org/index.php?board=59.0

http://geekhack.org/index.php?topic=34585.msg885515#new

seems like the bug I was having either was specific to that one post or similiar posts or it has worked itself out. All of the links I tested above worked the way they should in tapatalk.

Offline SmallFry

  • ** Moderator Emeritus
  • Posts: 3887
  • Location: Wisconsin, USA
  • Leaving 6/15; returning 6/22 or so.
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #232 on: Tue, 14 May 2013, 17:39:44 »
It seems that the :)) smiley has gone haywire in the Nostalgia Theme.

wait... well in this post at least... No idea what I did wrong.

Offline The_Ed

  • Posts: 1350
  • Location: MN - USA
  • Asperger's... SQUIRREL! I'm Anal Retentive *****!
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #233 on: Tue, 14 May 2013, 17:40:29 »
Only for you then, it shows up for me.
Reaper "frelled" me... Twice... Did he "frell" you too?... *brohug*
I'm camping for a week, and moving twice in a month. I'll get back to you when I can (If I don't then just send me another PM).
R.I.P.ster

Offline SpAmRaY

  • NOT a Moderator
  • * Certified Spammer
  • Posts: 14655
  • Location: \(_o)/
  • because reasons.......
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #234 on: Sat, 18 May 2013, 07:50:32 »
Not sure where to post this but I do not always get notification of new PM's. Sometimes I get them on my phone, sometimes I get the pop here letting me know....other times nothing until I either check to see if I got something new and/or see the email.

Is this normal? Maybe it is tapatalk interfering?

Offline rknize

  • * Administrator
  • Posts: 1717
  • Location: Chicago
    • metaruss
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #235 on: Sat, 18 May 2013, 16:08:07 »
Its been a bug since the start.  Something to do with multiple sessions.
Russ

Offline SpAmRaY

  • NOT a Moderator
  • * Certified Spammer
  • Posts: 14655
  • Location: \(_o)/
  • because reasons.......
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #236 on: Sat, 18 May 2013, 16:48:29 »
Its been a bug since the start.  Something to do with multiple sessions.

thanks!

Offline kmiller8

  • Banned
  •  Post Reporting Timeout
  • Posts: 1589
  • Who is that kmiller8 guy?
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #237 on: Fri, 24 May 2013, 21:21:55 »
the "more" tag doesn't work in preview?

Offline rknize

  • * Administrator
  • Posts: 1717
  • Location: Chicago
    • metaruss
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #238 on: Fri, 24 May 2013, 21:45:22 »
It works when you go from the quick reply to normal reply, but after that it won't expand.  Is that what you see?
Russ

Offline kmiller8

  • Banned
  •  Post Reporting Timeout
  • Posts: 1589
  • Who is that kmiller8 guy?
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #239 on: Fri, 24 May 2013, 21:51:49 »
I don't think I'm using quick reply?

I click Reply, it takes me to http://geekhack.org/index.php?action=post;topic=33106.210;last_msg=904861

when I put something a more tag
More
like this

And click preview, it doesn't show.


Offline rknize

  • * Administrator
  • Posts: 1717
  • Location: Chicago
    • metaruss
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #240 on: Fri, 24 May 2013, 22:24:35 »
OK, thanks.
Russ

Offline SpAmRaY

  • NOT a Moderator
  • * Certified Spammer
  • Posts: 14655
  • Location: \(_o)/
  • because reasons.......
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #241 on: Sat, 25 May 2013, 11:43:01 »
Every time I click a photo in a pm tapatalk crashes.

Offline rknize

  • * Administrator
  • Posts: 1717
  • Location: Chicago
    • metaruss
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #242 on: Sat, 25 May 2013, 11:50:46 »
I can't do anything about that.  Report it to Tapatalk.
Russ

Offline SpAmRaY

  • NOT a Moderator
  • * Certified Spammer
  • Posts: 14655
  • Location: \(_o)/
  • because reasons.......
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #243 on: Sat, 25 May 2013, 12:02:34 »
I can't do anything about that.  Report it to Tapatalk.

Will do! Thanks!

Offline Photoelectric

  • * Administrator
  • Posts: 6753
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #244 on: Sun, 02 June 2013, 23:36:05 »
Suddenly unable to post or edit my existing posts in the Classifieds / Group Buys / Interest Checks subforums.  It was all good, then at one point I reloaded a page, and noticed I couldn't edit my post.  Then I noticed that I couldn't do it for any of those 3 subforums.  Is there some sort of a server maintenance bug going on?

It works now, after a few minutes of not working at all.  Odd... fixed itself.
- Keyboards: LZ-GH (Jailhouse Blues)M65-a, MIRA SE, E8-V1, MOON TKL, CA66
- Keyboard Case Painting Tips -
- Join Mechanical Keyboards photography group on Flickr -

Offline rknize

  • * Administrator
  • Posts: 1717
  • Location: Chicago
    • metaruss
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #245 on: Sun, 02 June 2013, 23:48:06 »
I was cleaning up some old permissions from the site relaunch.  I guess it caused a glitch.  Let me know if you have any more trouble.
Russ

Offline Photoelectric

  • * Administrator
  • Posts: 6753
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #246 on: Sun, 02 June 2013, 23:51:50 »
I was cleaning up some old permissions from the site relaunch.  I guess it caused a glitch.  Let me know if you have any more trouble.

All good now--thanks!!!
- Keyboards: LZ-GH (Jailhouse Blues)M65-a, MIRA SE, E8-V1, MOON TKL, CA66
- Keyboard Case Painting Tips -
- Join Mechanical Keyboards photography group on Flickr -

Offline SmallFry

  • ** Moderator Emeritus
  • Posts: 3887
  • Location: Wisconsin, USA
  • Leaving 6/15; returning 6/22 or so.
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #247 on: Tue, 04 June 2013, 13:22:44 »
So, this 40 second post thing isn't exactly a bug, but it's rather annoying to have to wait to post to the site. Perhaps a bit less?

Offline SpAmRaY

  • NOT a Moderator
  • * Certified Spammer
  • Posts: 14655
  • Location: \(_o)/
  • because reasons.......
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #248 on: Tue, 04 June 2013, 13:28:59 »
So, this 40 second post thing isn't exactly a bug, but it's rather annoying to have to wait to post to the site. Perhaps a bit less?

^^ Yes this makes the goal of 100 posts per hour impossible  :'(

Offline SmallFry

  • ** Moderator Emeritus
  • Posts: 3887
  • Location: Wisconsin, USA
  • Leaving 6/15; returning 6/22 or so.
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #249 on: Tue, 04 June 2013, 13:32:05 »
I didn't mean that whatsoever, but I guess I see why it is now in place.