Author Topic: College Grads on GH  (Read 10929 times)

Offline BoxWithADot

College Grads on GH
« on: Sun, 09 December 2012, 21:19:11 »
Just wondering how many of you are college grads on Geekhack, if I had to guess it seems like it would be a fair number. It also seems like many of you are involved in IT/Programming fields. The reason I'm wondering is because lately I feel like college is a waste of time, and I'm paying for a piece of paper that won't particularly matter once I have 4-5 years of job experience. I'm currently studying computer science, I find the coursework interesting but not particularly useful with regards to real world scenarios. The "core curriculum" classes like political science are a complete waste of time IMO. Just curious about what GH thinks about the subject, especially those of you working in IT/programming.

Offline kmiller8

• Banned
  •  Post Reporting Timeout
  • Who is that kmiller8 guy?
Re: College Grads on GH
« Reply #1 on: Sun, 09 December 2012, 21:36:04 »
I'm going to be starting my 6th semester in the fall, and as a College student who is working at the same time in a possible field I could go into after school. You've hit the nail on the head.

Until you have that piece of paper, companies won't even look at you. Be thankful you're getting a somewhat useful degree out of it at least, unlike some business or arts or english degree.

I'm getting a Computer Engineering degree, and I'm working in an IT-like environment, however I'm kinda cheating since I'm working for a local government, they hire people based off of who you know, as opposed to what you know.

Also like you mentioned, I've talked to some senior-level students, and some recent grads, and the major deciding factor when you go to get your first job is your GPA, so do whatever you can to keep that up (or just lie on a job application, they won't care to check it)