Author Topic: Apple Extended Keyboard - Custom Keycaps  (Read 3224 times)

Offline Snipeye

Apple Extended Keyboard - Custom Keycaps
« on: Sun, 27 January 2013, 21:26:05 »
First things first, I'm quite new to all of this, so if it seems like these questions are stupid, that's why. ;)

I recently converted an old Apple extended keyboard - mk 1 - to USB, installed a USB hub, it's very nice. In the process, I spray painted the case black, which turned out.... Fine. Not super pleased with it, but it definitely could be much worse. Now, I also spray painted the keys all silver. I like his it looks - I put a clear coat over the keys, but that didn't make them glossy, and didn't really do much; the paint - after less than a month - is peeling off a couple of the more heavily-used keys (wasd in particular). To remedy this, I'm looking at a few different options - first, repaint and put more clear coat on after, or second, buy custom keycaps. With regards to the second option, I would like to either buy something metal - and therefore silvery - or glossy black to match the case. I have no idea if manufacturers can/do make keycaps compatible with my keyboard, or how expensive that would be. Thoughts? Info? Help? Thanks! Ps, I typed this on my iPod. Pardon typos. ;)

Offline koralatov

Re: Apple Extended Keyboard - Custom Keycaps
« Reply #1 on: Mon, 28 January 2013, 03:48:52 »
The caps, except the spacebar, are PBT, so you can dye them.  Obviously, you can only dye them darker than they are currently, and if you dye them too dark, you could end up with ‘blank’ keycaps.  Direct replacements would be hard to find, since the stems vary in height depending on row:

(Apologies for the grubbiness of the keys; I took this photo a while ago, and hadn’t bothered to clean the caps first.)

If you want some key caps to do a practice run on, I have about two keyboard-sets worth I could let you have for a couple of quid plus postage.