Author Topic: Using MX Numberpad with Topre Keyboard  (Read 2719 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline SpAmRaY

  • NOT a Moderator
  • * Certified Spammer
  • Thread Starter
  • Posts: 14668
  • Location: \(_o)/
  • because reasons.......
Using MX Numberpad with Topre Keyboard
« on: Wed, 05 February 2014, 11:28:14 »
Ok so my chances of finding a 23U/UB are pretty much zero.

I'd like to hear from people who use an MX numerpad along side either the HHKB or the realforce TKL.

Do you find it odd going between the MX and Topre switches?

Is there a better MX switch to go with to compliment the Topre?

Offline kmiller8

  • Banned
  •  Post Reporting Timeout
  • Posts: 1589
  • Who is that kmiller8 guy?
Re: Using MX Numberpad with Topre Keyboard
« Reply #1 on: Wed, 05 February 2014, 11:29:32 »
I hear if you lube MX browns a lot they become topre.

Offline SpAmRaY

  • NOT a Moderator
  • * Certified Spammer
  • Thread Starter
  • Posts: 14668
  • Location: \(_o)/
  • because reasons.......
Re: Using MX Numberpad with Topre Keyboard
« Reply #2 on: Wed, 05 February 2014, 11:30:29 »
I hear if you lube MX browns a lot they become topre.


Offline osi

  • Posts: 964
Re: Using MX Numberpad with Topre Keyboard
« Reply #3 on: Wed, 05 February 2014, 11:35:55 »
I use a leopold 10 key with blues in tandem with my HHKB. No problems to report here. Transition is quite easy as I know I'll be getting a different sensation when my hand goes for the numbpad.

Eventually, I'd like to put some clears in the tenkey. I like blues but currently they have o-rings underneath to dampen them. They are so loud by themselves!


Offline esoomenona

  • Gnillort?
  • Posts: 5323
Re: Using MX Numberpad with Topre Keyboard
« Reply #4 on: Wed, 05 February 2014, 11:48:13 »
I hear if you lube MX browns a lot they become topre.

Grease, son. GREASE. Quit giving people false information. You have to stuff them with grease until the grease is squeezing out of every orifice, then stuff a bit more for good measure. Only then will they truly feel like Topre.

Offline dustinhxc

  • * Exalted Elder
  • Posts: 6640
  • Location: MN
  • GAF x KK
    • Gray Designs
Re: Using MX Numberpad with Topre Keyboard
« Reply #5 on: Wed, 05 February 2014, 12:45:27 »
I use browns and they're so noisy! I wish I could lube them, but they work ok. Lol I wish they were clears too. I may pay someone to just swap the switches. I'd do it if it didn't have the plate.

Offline keymaster

  • Topre Revolution Theorist
  • Posts: 1148
Re: Using MX Numberpad with Topre Keyboard
« Reply #6 on: Wed, 05 February 2014, 13:18:39 »
I thought of getting a number pad again, but I wouldn't use it 95%+ of the time. How often do you find yourself in need of the numpad? I've learned to use the numbers above the alpha keys quickly and accurately.

If you want a numpad just to have a complete set or look, then go for it. If you lube MX Browns, they will feel less scratchy. You might want to mod them to higher weighted springs to be closer to the weight of the Topre keyboard you plan to use it with.

Offline atlas3686

  • HHKB Elite
  • * Esteemed Elder
  • Posts: 2342
  • Location: South Africa
  • Preacher at the church of Thorpe
Re: Using MX Numberpad with Topre Keyboard
« Reply #7 on: Wed, 05 February 2014, 13:22:21 »
I've got the same setup as Dustin but I hate going between my type-s and the browns. I wish could lube them but don't really know what to get to do it, there aren't going to be the same brands here and don't want to mess it up. Hoping to get a topre tenkey at some point. I heard they were releasing a new one?

Offline demik

  • Pronounced "demique"
  • Posts: 11159
Re: Using MX Numberpad with Topre Keyboard
« Reply #8 on: Wed, 05 February 2014, 13:27:39 »
Don't you own a 3700?
No, hes not around. How that sound to ya? Jot it down.

Offline SpAmRaY

  • NOT a Moderator
  • * Certified Spammer
  • Thread Starter
  • Posts: 14668
  • Location: \(_o)/
  • because reasons.......
Re: Using MX Numberpad with Topre Keyboard
« Reply #9 on: Wed, 05 February 2014, 13:28:49 »

Offline demik

  • Pronounced "demique"
  • Posts: 11159
Re: Using MX Numberpad with Topre Keyboard
« Reply #10 on: Wed, 05 February 2014, 13:29:55 »
So you have experience with using your hhkb with the 3700
No, hes not around. How that sound to ya? Jot it down.

Offline SpAmRaY

  • NOT a Moderator
  • * Certified Spammer
  • Thread Starter
  • Posts: 14668
  • Location: \(_o)/
  • because reasons.......
Re: Using MX Numberpad with Topre Keyboard
« Reply #11 on: Wed, 05 February 2014, 13:30:32 »
So you have experience with using your hhkb with the 3700

It just feels awkward.

Offline demik

  • Pronounced "demique"
  • Posts: 11159
Re: Using MX Numberpad with Topre Keyboard
« Reply #12 on: Wed, 05 February 2014, 13:44:13 »
Do they have stock blacks?

I modded mine to have cherry bruise. So I get the nice sound and click of blues but heavier than stock blues.
No, hes not around. How that sound to ya? Jot it down.

Offline SpAmRaY

  • NOT a Moderator
  • * Certified Spammer
  • Thread Starter
  • Posts: 14668
  • Location: \(_o)/
  • because reasons.......
Re: Using MX Numberpad with Topre Keyboard
« Reply #13 on: Wed, 05 February 2014, 13:45:31 »
Do they have stock blacks?

I modded mine to have cherry bruise. So I get the nice sound and click of blues but heavier than stock blues.

Well right my 3700 has tactile grays.

Offline Macsmasher

  • Posts: 462
  • Location: Portland, OR
Re: Using MX Numberpad with Topre Keyboard
« Reply #14 on: Wed, 05 February 2014, 13:47:09 »
I use a 23U and love it. I used a Filco with browns last month and it was great for a Cherry MX product.

Be aware that numpad layouts can differ considerably. Before buying the 23U, I bought one with an odd placement of the "-", "+", "*" and "/" keys.

Offline demik

  • Pronounced "demique"
  • Posts: 11159
Re: Using MX Numberpad with Topre Keyboard
« Reply #15 on: Wed, 05 February 2014, 13:53:03 »
I use a 23U and love it. I used a Filco with browns last month and it was great for a Cherry MX product.

Be aware that numpad layouts can differ considerably. Before buying the 23U, I bought one with an odd placement of the "-", "+", "*" and "/" keys.
He's not asking about the 23u. Cherry number pad with topre keyboard.
No, hes not around. How that sound to ya? Jot it down.

Offline SpAmRaY

  • NOT a Moderator
  • * Certified Spammer
  • Thread Starter
  • Posts: 14668
  • Location: \(_o)/
  • because reasons.......
Re: Using MX Numberpad with Topre Keyboard
« Reply #16 on: Wed, 05 February 2014, 13:54:37 »
I use a 23U and love it. I used a Filco with browns last month and it was great for a Cherry MX product.

Be aware that numpad layouts can differ considerably. Before buying the 23U, I bought one with an odd placement of the "-", "+", "*" and "/" keys.

I'd love to have a 23U but they are pretty much unobtanium at this point.

Offline Macsmasher

  • Posts: 462
  • Location: Portland, OR
Re: Using MX Numberpad with Topre Keyboard
« Reply #17 on: Wed, 05 February 2014, 14:05:22 »
I use a 23U and love it. I used a Filco with browns last month and it was great for a Cherry MX product.

Be aware that numpad layouts can differ considerably. Before buying the 23U, I bought one with an odd placement of the "-", "+", "*" and "/" keys.

I'd love to have a 23U but they are pretty much unobtanium at this point.

I just noticed that at EK. None at keyboardco either. With Topre stopping production of keycaps, the spotty inventory of available keyboards and recent price reductions makes me wonder if they're retooling for a new product line.

Offline esoomenona

  • Gnillort?
  • Posts: 5323
Re: Using MX Numberpad with Topre Keyboard
« Reply #18 on: Wed, 05 February 2014, 14:58:59 »
If your worry is that a MX switch will feel different from a HHKB, then you should know that a 23U/B also feels different from a HHKB.

Offline SpAmRaY

  • NOT a Moderator
  • * Certified Spammer
  • Thread Starter
  • Posts: 14668
  • Location: \(_o)/
  • because reasons.......
Re: Using MX Numberpad with Topre Keyboard
« Reply #19 on: Wed, 05 February 2014, 15:08:54 »
If your worry is that a MX switch will feel different from a HHKB, then you should know that a 23U/B also feels different from a HHKB.

That is a good point and I realize it won't be the same and I will also use a realforce 55g which will feel different as well, but topre and topre is still better than mx and topre.

I have come to the realization I might as well just use an MX number pad since I have been unsuccessful in getting a topre numberpad.

I just wanted to see what other users were using and there experiences mixing the two switch types.

Offline CPTBadAss

  • Woke up like this
  • Posts: 14305
  • Rich Homie Huang.
Re: Using MX Numberpad with Topre Keyboard
« Reply #20 on: Wed, 05 February 2014, 15:12:43 »
If your worry is that a MX switch will feel different from a HHKB, then you should know that a 23U/B also feels different from a HHKB.

What's stopping someone from swapping domes into the 23U/B from say a 55g board? Would it then feel like a 55g Realforce? Or is there something I'm missing?

Offline SpAmRaY

  • NOT a Moderator
  • * Certified Spammer
  • Thread Starter
  • Posts: 14668
  • Location: \(_o)/
  • because reasons.......
Re: Using MX Numberpad with Topre Keyboard
« Reply #21 on: Wed, 05 February 2014, 15:13:45 »
If your worry is that a MX switch will feel different from a HHKB, then you should know that a 23U/B also feels different from a HHKB.

What's stopping someone from swapping domes into the 23U/B from say a 55g board? Would it then feel like a 55g Realforce? Or is there something I'm missing?

I would do that if I had a 23U/B. :D

Offline esoomenona

  • Gnillort?
  • Posts: 5323
Re: Using MX Numberpad with Topre Keyboard
« Reply #22 on: Wed, 05 February 2014, 16:07:07 »
If your worry is that a MX switch will feel different from a HHKB, then you should know that a 23U/B also feels different from a HHKB.

What's stopping someone from swapping domes into the 23U/B from say a 55g board? Would it then feel like a 55g Realforce? Or is there something I'm missing?

That would probably be very similar, if not the same. The reason they're not the same as the HHKB, even though both are 45g, is the mounting (plate vs. case). A RF board would be plate mounted, same as the 23U/B, so they may be the same in feeling.

Offline SpAmRaY

  • NOT a Moderator
  • * Certified Spammer
  • Thread Starter
  • Posts: 14668
  • Location: \(_o)/
  • because reasons.......
Re: Using MX Numberpad with Topre Keyboard
« Reply #23 on: Wed, 05 February 2014, 16:12:49 »
If your worry is that a MX switch will feel different from a HHKB, then you should know that a 23U/B also feels different from a HHKB.

What's stopping someone from swapping domes into the 23U/B from say a 55g board? Would it then feel like a 55g Realforce? Or is there something I'm missing?

That would probably be very similar, if not the same. The reason they're not the same as the HHKB, even though both are 45g, is the mounting (plate vs. case). A RF board would be plate mounted, same as the 23U/B, so they may be the same in feeling.

Just sell me your topre numberpad and I'll do a comparison. :thumb:

Or even better I'll send you a buckling springs clack for it.  :o

Offline Mr. C

  • Posts: 58
Re: Using MX Numberpad with Topre Keyboard
« Reply #24 on: Wed, 05 February 2014, 16:26:06 »
;-). I would definitely say you are over thinking it. I use Leopold with blue switches from EK with whichever TKL keyboard I'm using. Currently I'm alternating between 87u 45, 87u 55 and IBM SSK. The Leopold keycaps match best with my FC660C, but that's my travel keyboard.  The number pad sits above my keyboard. It's no bother at all with switching between different switches to me.

Offline C5Allroad

  • Formerly HUNTERANGEL121
  • Posts: 1235
  • Location: Miami, FL
  • Watch out, I post when half asleep.
Re: Using MX Numberpad with Topre Keyboard
« Reply #25 on: Wed, 05 February 2014, 19:29:14 »
I hear if you lube MX browns a lot they become topre.
Same can be said for clears...