Author Topic: DAS revival  (Read 1989 times)

Offline gangaskan

DAS revival
« on: Mon, 07 October 2013, 10:57:38 »
i'm trying to look at my options here guys

i have a DAS keyboard 2010 model i think, or so.  with the 1.5 pcb version 

basically what happened was i plugged something into the keyboard that what assumed to me was good and well, sparks and the magic smoke was let out of the PCB for the controller. 

i'm weighing my options and i wanted to get opinions from everyone. 

cut my losses, gut the board, and sell the remains or should i try to give it cpr with a teensy or something similar?   mind you, i'm not a complete novice, however, i'm not sure where to start nor what pins go where in terms of the board and the controller. 

i could care less about having USB devices on the board, so if i can use a teensy would be thrilled.   :thumb:     

Offline xavierblak

Re: DAS revival
« Reply #1 on: Mon, 07 October 2013, 11:43:52 »
I believe the DAS has a separate control board connected by a ribbon cable. So this would be one of the simpler boards to try and get working with a teensy. But you are still going to have to figure out the matrix and fabricate something to connect the teensy to the ribbon cable.

That could be done with a protoboard some pin headers and some solder. But if that's doable for you all depends on your level of experience.

Offline gangaskan

« Reply #2 on: Mon, 07 October 2013, 12:23:16 »
I believe the DAS has a separate control board connected by a ribbon cable. So this would be one of the simpler boards to try and get working with a teensy. But you are still going to have to figure out the matrix and fabricate something to connect the teensy to the ribbon cable.

That could be done with a protoboard some pin headers and some solder. But if that's doable for you all depends on your level of experience.

yes it does, a 26 pin header. 

how would i go about figuring out the matrix? 

Offline xavierblak