Author Topic: Custom Case Concepts and Ideas  (Read 4465 times)

Offline codyeatworld

• * Destiny Supporter
Custom Case Concepts and Ideas
« on: Mon, 04 November 2013, 12:13:01 »
What are you ideal features for a custom case? or layout?

I have been playing with solidworks recently. I have a small background in cinema 4d so it wasn't too bad to pick it up and get started.

I've always wanted to produce a custom case and I think I'm going to go for it.
I'm gonna throw around some concepts, I'm not in any hurry to produce a case and will have a some funds to put into it later. I'm also by no means an expert, I don't even know if what I create or want would be possible, so any help is appreciated.

My goals are:
  • Produce a high end custom open source CNC machined case
  • Heavy
  • Plate that attaches to the case
  • Custom PCB or GH60
  • Group buy for case with keycaps, pcb, plate

Currently starting off with a 60% concept based on the 456gt.

Offline SpAmRaY

• NOT a Moderator
  • * Certified Spammer
  • because reasons.......
Re: Custom Case Concepts and Ideas
« Reply #1 on: Mon, 04 November 2013, 12:17:20 »
HHKB 'symmetric' GH60 1x 1.5x 7x 1.5x 1x bottom row, split backspace, short right shift with function key

Offline metalliqaz

• * Maker
  • Leopold fanboy
« Reply #2 on: Mon, 04 November 2013, 12:20:19 »
That thing looks cool.  I think it's worthy of development.

Offline CPTBadAss

• Woke up like this
    • Tactile Zine
« Reply #3 on: Mon, 04 November 2013, 12:22:33 »
That last view is very odd. Is that a front or a rear view? It looks like a front view but it looks weird, like the back isn't machined down the same as the front.

The angle looks to be a little steep as well.

Edit: I'm not sure what my ideal case would be but this is going to be a cool thread and I like the idea you presented :D.
« Last Edit: Mon, 04 November 2013, 12:30:59 by CPTBadAss »

Offline codyeatworld

• * Destiny Supporter
« Reply #4 on: Mon, 04 November 2013, 12:32:54 »