Author Topic: Blackwidow Tournament - noob question  (Read 1392 times)

Offline Tavernas

Blackwidow Tournament - noob question
« on: Wed, 15 October 2014, 09:27:15 »
Hi guys,
wonderful forum!

I am really new to keyboard modding and I have a question.
I own a Razer Blackwidow Tournament edition keyboard. I've been browsing through wasd keyboards and I was wondering if the 87 key cap set they offer will fit my keyboard. will it ?

Thanks a lot

Offline esoomenona

• Gnillort?
« Reply #1 on: Wed, 15 October 2014, 09:29:51 »
« Last Edit: Fri, 04 September 2015, 11:20:25 by esoomenona »

Offline FrostyToast

• Litshoard
  • * Exquisite Elder
Re: Blackwidow Tournament - noob question
« Reply #2 on: Wed, 15 October 2014, 09:30:27 »
Other than me telling you to throw out your keyboard and get a new one, to my knowledge it will not fit.
Although the key sizes for most of the keys line up,  the bottom row on the black widow is very nonstandard and only a few keys would fit there. 
Quote from: elton5354
I don't need anymore keyboards

Offline Tavernas

« Reply #3 on: Wed, 15 October 2014, 09:34:33 »
No, it wouldn't. Everything else would fit perfectly fine, except for the bottom row. Your spacebar and the 7 keys surrounding it are all of different sizes than that set.

thanks mate

What if choose to have the os keys and the menu key as R1 1x1?

Offline esoomenona

• Gnillort?
« Reply #4 on: Wed, 15 October 2014, 09:58:04 »
« Last Edit: Fri, 04 September 2015, 11:19:36 by esoomenona »

Offline Tavernas

« Reply #5 on: Wed, 15 October 2014, 10:04:21 »
Those would fit. The problems you have are these:

1. Spacebar - typically 6.25x, the one on your keyboard is 6x, so a tad smaller.
2. Ctrl and Alt - typically 1.25x, the ones on your keyboard are 1.5x, so a tad larger.

These keys are replaceable by all means, just not easy to get a complete set that fits them right out of the box.

thanks again!!

Offline rowdy

• HHKB Hapster
  • * Erudite Elder
  • Missed another sale.