Author Topic: Thinking in a new keyboard project, some doubts...  (Read 3932 times)

Offline Nightlane

Thinking in a new keyboard project, some doubts...
« on: Fri, 24 October 2014, 06:49:15 »
Hey,

I have been looking a bit over anduino and over that other chip to which Soarer developed a firmware.

This is a bit a test of a concept, for fun and, If able, to build something (or give ideas to other developers). I am a coder and a gamer, so I am looking a keyboard for those both activities. :)

I am looking for a 60% keyboard design.

Some extra especial keys. Those special keys my plan is to send an special code (any code not used for other function) and catch it in one running application to do special tasks.

A wire for each key.

Pooling rate as 1000.

Create a complex backlit system (I am being inspired in that RGB backlight now in some keyboards, but a 1 color and 8bit status is a good start but maybe too expensive). Being able to update the backlit behaviour in a safe way, if possible.

Mouse capabilities... first as ducky mini, later will add some custom controls.

The first stage of my plan is at first look for or if not found define a circuit to be able go multiply inputs and outputs, using a bus to serialize data through it to set or read data from these input/outputs, do pollings, etc.

In the while analyze arduino and other solutions as the main controller...

The first doubt is about that I have used in the past programs which were used like a virtual trainer to place digital electrical components and then be able to check how they works together. I have seen KiCad but as far as I have looked at it I do not seen that it have this type of functionality. Can please you recommend me a program to do this? And free? :)  (Arduino/other chip compatible?)
« Last Edit: Mon, 27 October 2014, 11:15:38 by Nightlane »

Offline jacobolus

Re: Returning to this...
« Reply #1 on: Fri, 24 October 2014, 23:01:16 »