Author Topic: Hello from Brazil  (Read 1051 times)

Offline keijo

Hello from Brazil
« on: Sat, 08 November 2014, 17:25:10 »
Hello keyboard experts, it's nice to be here.  ;D

I'm a total newbie in mechanical keyboard stuff. I spent my last three days reading about layouts and switches and keycaps, but I'm still feeling as someone standing in the edge of a portal to a new whole world.

I have one question, I would appreciate if someone could help me:

- What is the best way to choose a cherry mx switch (or other switch)? (I thought about buying a WASD sampler kit, but I don't know where I will mount the switches to make the comparison).

Nice to meet you all

keijo (it means cheese in portuguese - if it matters :p )

Offline Rainbow_

• zealio master race
Re: Hello from Brazil
« Reply #1 on: Sat, 08 November 2014, 20:58:46 »
Hi! Welcome to GH! There are other switch testers that have mounts on them, such as MaxKeyboards, which should be in stock soon. Or you could get the WASD one and build a mount out of LEGOs!
Zealio Master Race

Offline keijo

« Reply #2 on: Sun, 09 November 2014, 08:03:16 »
Hey Rainbow, thank you for your reply!

The MaxKeyboards' kit looks great, but building a mount of LEGO sounds totally cool, I'll give it a try.

Offline rowdy

• HHKB Hapster
  • * Erudite Elder
  • Missed another sale.
« Reply #3 on: Tue, 18 November 2014, 03:35:06 »
Welcome to Geekhack!

The switch tester I have tried closest to a real keyboard would be either the one from QWER (sadly no longer available any more) or the CoolerMaster one.  Actually the CM one is pretty neat - it actually looks like a miniature 6 key keyboard :)

There was a recent Massdrop for these, as someone found here.  Unfortunately it just ended, but keep an eye out in case it happens again.