Author Topic: Finally entering the game with as KUL ES-87  (Read 1414 times)

Offline CrystalPepsi

Finally entering the game with as KUL ES-87
« on: Thu, 04 December 2014, 08:16:07 »
Acquired my first mechanical keyboard a few months back: KUL ES-87. I am a SQL Server BI Programmer by trade. Hoping to find some threads where people modded this particular keyboard!

Offline osi

Re: Finally entering the game with as KUL ES-87
« Reply #1 on: Thu, 04 December 2014, 08:31:17 »
Welcome! Quality board you have aquired sir.

Which switch type did you end up going with?

Offline Flyersfan1

• * Destiny Supporter
  • Hi!
« Reply #2 on: Thu, 04 December 2014, 08:35:21 »
Nice first mechanical! The KUL is such a great stock keyboard.

What modifications are you looking to do?
Quote from: Photekq
i know people who think salt is spicy

Offline CrystalPepsi

« Reply #3 on: Thu, 04 December 2014, 08:49:42 »

I am a heavy typer and work in a quiet office environment so I wanted to avoid clicky for the sanity of my coworkers. I decided on the Clears which are hard to find stock. The board I almost got instead was the CODE, but I read some mixed reviews so I went with the KUL and couldn't be happier. Took my some time to get used to the much longer key travel compared to my typical shallow rubber dome boards I have been using in the past.

Offline CrystalPepsi

« Reply #4 on: Thu, 04 December 2014, 08:54:17 »
Nice first mechanical! The KUL is such a great stock keyboard.

What modifications are you looking to do?

Well, after only having this board a couple months, the keys are already getting that greasy/shiney look to them so I think I want to upgrade to some better keycaps. I also like the look of using difference color keycaps; in particular, i smash the F5 and F9 keys a lot to execute code, so having them a bright color like red, with a nuclear or skull symbol would be cool.