Author Topic: First "professional" keyboard... need recommendations. Majestouch FKBN104M?  (Read 3451 times)

Offline sofakng

Hey folks... I'm a software developer but I'm looking for a new keyboard to use at my house which is primarily used for gaming.

I'm really only a casual gamer so I don't need anything crazy but I want a good and solid keyboard and I don't mind paying for it.  (Up to about $130ish)

I've been using a five or six year old wireless Dell keyboard and it's served me well but it's finally falling apart so I want something that will last me a long time.

From the sound of it (no pun intended) keyboards are mostly personal preference but the idea of a "clicky" (mechanical) keyboard does sound really good and since I'm willing to spend the money I guess the keyboard better have N-key rollover support.  I'd also like a full keyboard (104/105 keys) and don't care at all about "media keys" or any of that garbage.

At first I was thinking about the Das Keyboard because I've heard of it but after reading reviews and hearing about the N-key rollover problem (or whatever it was), I think I'm going to stay away from it.

Next on my list was the Deck Legend keyboard.  However, they seem to cost about $160 and I really don't need the backlighting so it seems like a bit of a waste.

That leaves me with the Majestouch Tactile Touch (FKBN104M/EB) keyboard.

It has cherry brown switches and I have no idea if I want that versus cherry blue.  I guess I don't want something too loud but I really have no idea if I want quiet or not.  Maybe something in-between?  I really don't know.

I'm also unsure of the difference between "tactile" and "linear".  It seems like most people prefer "tactile" so I'm inclined to get that one.

Thanks so much for any advice!

Offline takasta

First "professional" keyboard... need recommendations. Majestouch FKBN104M?
« Reply #1 on: Fri, 21 August 2009, 13:28:04 »