Author Topic: DuPont Teflon Lube  (Read 1665 times)

Offline greath

• A waffle is like a pancake with a syrup trap.
DuPont Teflon Lube
« on: Wed, 15 April 2015, 15:04:38 »
I was wondering if anyone has used DuPont Teflon Non-Stick Dry-Film Lubricant for switch lubricant?

I'm new to lubing switches. I was trying to figure out what the "optimal" and "optimal for cost" lubricants are and I ran across some interesting information around the web. A reddit post from an elitekeyboards.com rep and a comment from mkawa here on geekhack have lead me to direct my attention away from Krytox and towards dry PTFE based lubes for cost, availability, and performance reasons.

I was hoping someone with more experience than I could give their thoughts/insight. If a user has a lot of experience with lubing and/or would be willing to write up their opinions on the lube I linked above, I would be willing to buy/ship them a bottle to get 1 to 1 comparison to more commonly used lubes here (Krytox seems to be the most popular, but maybe I've misread that).

Offline nubbinator

• Dabbler Supreme
  • * Maker
  • Model M "connoisseur"
Re: DuPont Teflon Lube
« Reply #1 on: Wed, 15 April 2015, 16:23:28 »
EK have their own reasons for speaking out against Krytox.. namely pimping their own products.

I can say from experience, in the long run, nothing feels as good or holds up as well as Krytox in an office or home setting. 

Offline fohat.digs

• * Elevated Elder
  • weird funny old guy
Re: DuPont Teflon Lube
« Reply #2 on: Wed, 15 April 2015, 17:15:24 »
I have used that lube you pictured with good results. It is great to have around the house for all sorts of other things anyway.

I use Elite Keyboards' thick lube for stabilizer tabs and it has been excellent. The curved plastic tip is great. I have done at least a couple of dozen keyboards and am just now running out.

Also a syringe of Krytox (maybe 1cc or less) has been quite nice and has lasted a long time.