Author Topic: New user looking for advice on Model F  (Read 2154 times)

Offline JohnDoe77

New user looking for advice on Model F
« on: Sat, 01 August 2015, 22:53:34 »
Hi. New user here. Currently using a Model M 42H1292. It's pretty nice, but I've heard the Model F is even better.

I just so happen to have one. It's a Model F AT. It looks exactly like this one:

I found it in my dad's garage and he let me have it. It is dirty, so I need to recondition it. I also need to convert it to USB and convert it to ANSI. Is there some guide I can follow to do all that?

One concern I have is that it only has F1-F10. F11 and F12 are missing. Is there some easy way to solve it? Having to re-learn my hotkeys would be annoying.

Sorry for being clueless. I'm a total beginner.

Offline JohnDoe77

Re: New user looking for advice on Model F
« Reply #1 on: Sat, 01 August 2015, 22:56:07 »
By the way, I know this is not the correct place to post this. I'm not sure where I should, though. Could someone direct me to the appropriate board to ask for advice?

Offline nubbinator

• Dabbler Supreme
  • * Maker
  • Model M "connoisseur"
« Reply #2 on: Sat, 01 August 2015, 22:58:23 »
Well, if you do one of the converters, you can create a function layer.

Offline FrostyToast

• Litshoard
  • * Exquisite Elder
« Reply #3 on: Sat, 01 August 2015, 23:00:27 »
You should put a new controller in it an program a function layer on your board for f11 and f12 on f1 and f2.
You might as well since you require a new controller for the ANSI mod.
Quote from: elton5354
I don't need anymore keyboards

Offline JohnDoe77

« Reply #4 on: Sat, 01 August 2015, 23:04:39 »
I assume "converter" is a Soarer's converter, right? People mentioned that on other sites. How do I get/make one of those? Is there a comprehensive guide or did someone else document their own repair/upgrade process so I can follow along?

Offline nubbinator

• Dabbler Supreme
  • * Maker
  • Model M "connoisseur"