Author Topic: Hello Geekhack!  (Read 1271 times)

Offline MobiusPC

Hello Geekhack!
« on: Wed, 26 August 2015, 17:53:16 »
Hey everyone!

I'm not very new to the mech world as I have a dirty, yet surprisingly sturdy model m at work, but I am very new to the keyboard enthusiast world. I really want a Poker II or Pok3r for my office at home and to use as a project. I fell in love with all the custom designs and hope to get in on a cool group buy that comes along eventually!

I'm the only person I know who is into mechanical keyboards (and really know what they are), but I hope to eventually meet mech keyboard enthusiasts when I move to TX, close to Austin. I look forward to awesome discussion on here!

Offline rowdy

• HHKB Hapster
  • * Erudite Elder
  • Missed another sale.
Re: Hello Geekhack!
« Reply #1 on: Fri, 28 August 2015, 05:58:12 »
Welcome to Geekhack!

A Model M will clean up surprisingly well.  My first two came with cables cut off, missing keycaps, and covered in dirt.  Now they are (although not perfect) very clean examples with all keycaps and new cables.

There are group buys all the time - bide your time, save your money, and you'll be ready :)
"Because keyboards are accessories to PC makers, they focus on minimizing the manufacturing costs. But that’s incorrect. It’s in HHKB’s slogan, but when America’s cowboys were in the middle of a trip and their horse died, they would leave the horse there. But even if they were in the middle of a desert, they would take their saddle with them. The horse was a consumable good, but the saddle was an interface that their bodies had gotten used to. In the same vein, PCs are consumable goods, while keyboards are important interfaces." - Eiiti Wada