Author Topic: Coder from Los Angeles, now obsessed with keyboards  (Read 1100 times)

Offline kinetic

Coder from Los Angeles, now obsessed with keyboards
« on: Sat, 19 September 2015, 20:29:42 »
Hi all,

I've been a developer for 15 years and just got my first mechanical: wasd code keyboard with browns.  Now I'm quickly looking at the topre all 55g.  I foresee a new addiction.

Side note: do you guys normally pre order from elite keyboards or do you just wait for the site to update their inventory as "in stock"?  I see that I can purchase "out of stock" items now, but I just wasn't sure how accurate their estimates were in terms of getting more items in.

In any case, looking forward to the new adventures that await!

Offline raymogi

Re: Coder from Los Angeles, now obsessed with keyboards
« Reply #1 on: Sat, 19 September 2015, 20:31:32 »
Get that 55g and you'll be looking for things to type all day long.

I'm not a coder but all I do is go on those typing test websites cause I can't get enough of the thock!
Please feed my addiction.

Offline kinetic

« Reply #2 on: Sat, 19 September 2015, 20:36:46 »
Ha. I'm just waiting for EK to get some in stock.  It will definitely see use: 9 hours a day, 5 days a week. Wonder if fatigue will set in... Although the browns don't seem laborious for me. 

Offline raymogi

« Reply #3 on: Sat, 19 September 2015, 20:40:28 »
It might at first, going from the browns. I started with Red as my first mech board, then went to 45g Topre right away. It felt tougher to press but I got used to it in about 2 days.

But when I go to the 55g though, I wasn't liking it at all at first. Tried it on off for a week and still finding myself going back to 45g. Then I figure I'll try those 55g domes in my HHKB Type-S so I transplanted it. There is no looking back now. Once you get used to 55g Topre, it is the best typing feeling EVER!
Please feed my addiction.

Offline kinetic

« Reply #4 on: Sat, 19 September 2015, 20:45:08 »