Author Topic: Hello, friends!  (Read 1454 times)

Offline arrowM

Hello, friends!
« on: Wed, 16 December 2015, 22:33:52 »
Hello everyone,
My name is arrowM and I'm excited to finally be a part of the GH community. I have been into mechanical keyboards for about a year and a half now, ever since I got my first one—a Corsair K70 with MX Browns. After a while I realized I needed something with heavier switches, so I splurged on a Topre Realforce 87U 55g. Currently it's my main keyboard, and I absolutely love it!

With that said, I'm always looking to try new keyboards and switches as much as I can. I just ordered a Unicomp Ultra Classic because I've heard so many good things about buckling springs, so we'll see how that goes.

I'm a college student studying computer engineering (which means money is scarce!). Other hobbies & interests include gaming and science, especially physics & astrophysics.

It's great to meet everyone!

Offline FLFisherman

• * Elevated Elder
  • I'd rather be fishing.
Re: Hello, friends!
« Reply #1 on: Wed, 16 December 2015, 22:35:53 »
Welcome to the club! What inspired you to study computer engineering?

Offline arrowM

« Reply #2 on: Wed, 16 December 2015, 22:59:19 »
I think it was mainly my interest in gaming that got me into computers in the first place. I've always been good at math as well, so when I took computer science for the first time in high school, it was a natural fit.

Offline rowdy

• HHKB Hapster
  • * Erudite Elder
  • Missed another sale.
« Reply #3 on: Fri, 18 December 2015, 03:47:46 »
Welcome to Geekhack!

A buckling spring keyboard would definitely be a contrast to MX browns and Topre (typed on my SSK).  If you like the Unicomp, you might see if you can find an original IBM Model M - same design as the Unicomp, but made when the manufacturing equipment was still new(ish) and keyboards were really made to last.  Imagine a 30 year old keyboard coming back to life with just a good clean!