Author Topic: How to get this keyboard to work?  (Read 1105 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline sircheddar

  • Thread Starter
  • Posts: 121
  • Location: Pasadena, California
How to get this keyboard to work?
« on: Tue, 01 March 2016, 20:45:13 »
Due to my impulsiveness and love for keyboards, I just purchased this Wyse Terminal Keyboard. I don't even know if it is mechanical, but i would be blown away if the switches are not mx compatible so I took the leap of faith.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/331606381699

Anyways, with anticipation of the board arriving next week, how can i be prepared to get this thing working in a timely manner?

Also, any ideas if it is mechanical, what switches it would have?

thanks!

sircheddar
" I hope that when the world comes to an end, I can breathe a sigh of relief, because there will be so much to look forward to. "

Offline klennkellon

  • Posts: 1278
  • Location: Southern California
  • I like bottoming out
Re: How to get this keyboard to work?
« Reply #1 on: Tue, 01 March 2016, 20:55:10 »
I'm fairly certain it's a rubber dome, particularly BTC Dome With Sliders which are at least decent rubber domes.

I have no idea what connector that is, it looks to be an AT but I can't tell. Either way you can pick up an AT to PS/2 adapter for pretty cheap on Amazon.

« Last Edit: Tue, 01 March 2016, 20:59:12 by klennkellon »

Offline sircheddar

  • Thread Starter
  • Posts: 121
  • Location: Pasadena, California
Re: How to get this keyboard to work?
« Reply #2 on: Tue, 01 March 2016, 21:03:27 »
Looks like I probably picked up a 40 dollar meh keycap set then lol. Oh well, will be fun to try out anyways
" I hope that when the world comes to an end, I can breathe a sigh of relief, because there will be so much to look forward to. "

Offline CPTBadAss

  • Woke up like this
  • Posts: 14305
  • Rich Homie Huang.
Re: How to get this keyboard to work?
« Reply #3 on: Tue, 01 March 2016, 21:05:13 »
Pretty sure those keycaps won't work with MX either.

Offline klennkellon

  • Posts: 1278
  • Location: Southern California
  • I like bottoming out
Re: How to get this keyboard to work?
« Reply #4 on: Tue, 01 March 2016, 21:05:31 »
Looks like I probably picked up a 40 dollar meh keycap set then lol. Oh well, will be fun to try out anyways
Yes. and if it's BTC dome with sliders the keycaps may be MX compatible (sans the stabilized keys)

Offline sircheddar

  • Thread Starter
  • Posts: 121
  • Location: Pasadena, California
Re: How to get this keyboard to work?
« Reply #5 on: Tue, 01 March 2016, 21:10:33 »
https://geekhack.org/index.php?topic=73732.0

Looks like some bad news for sircheddar ): still excited tho lol
" I hope that when the world comes to an end, I can breathe a sigh of relief, because there will be so much to look forward to. "

Offline csmertx

  • proprietor of waffles
  • * Elevated Elder
  • Posts: 2662
  • Location: Gainesville, FL
  • Perfectly normal beast
    • https://csmertx.github.io
Re: How to get this keyboard to work?
« Reply #6 on: Tue, 01 March 2016, 21:14:18 »
Seems to have a ps2 cable, might not have to worry about that to much
More
 / another 3d keyboard model thread / BSD thread / github / falotalt
Quote
...Especially the Florida cousins, who obviously can't take a hint.

Offline sircheddar

  • Thread Starter
  • Posts: 121
  • Location: Pasadena, California
Re: How to get this keyboard to work?
« Reply #7 on: Tue, 01 March 2016, 21:56:52 »
Looks like I probably picked up a 40 dollar meh keycap set then lol. Oh well, will be fun to try out anyways
Yes. and if it's BTC dome with sliders the keycaps may be MX compatible (sans the stabilized keys)

so, none of the keys w/ stabs will work? will the 1.5 and the 2u keys work?
" I hope that when the world comes to an end, I can breathe a sigh of relief, because there will be so much to look forward to. "

Offline klennkellon

  • Posts: 1278
  • Location: Southern California
  • I like bottoming out
Re: How to get this keyboard to work?
« Reply #8 on: Tue, 01 March 2016, 23:48:24 »
Looks like I probably picked up a 40 dollar meh keycap set then lol. Oh well, will be fun to try out anyways
Yes. and if it's BTC dome with sliders the keycaps may be MX compatible (sans the stabilized keys)

so, none of the keys w/ stabs will work? will the 1.5 and the 2u keys work?

I'm not sure, shouldn't be too hard to try.

The BTC dome with sliders are pretty good domes though, Chyros thinks they feel "85% as good as Topre" and I see no reason not to trust him.

Offline csmertx

  • proprietor of waffles
  • * Elevated Elder
  • Posts: 2662
  • Location: Gainesville, FL
  • Perfectly normal beast
    • https://csmertx.github.io
Re: How to get this keyboard to work?
« Reply #9 on: Tue, 01 March 2016, 23:57:55 »
Looks like I probably picked up a 40 dollar meh keycap set then lol. Oh well, will be fun to try out anyways
Yes. and if it's BTC dome with sliders the keycaps may be MX compatible (sans the stabilized keys)

so, none of the keys w/ stabs will work? will the 1.5 and the 2u keys work?

I'm not sure, shouldn't be too hard to try.

The BTC dome with sliders are pretty good domes though, Chyros thinks they feel "85% as good as Topre" and I see no reason not to trust him.
High praise indeed
More
 / another 3d keyboard model thread / BSD thread / github / falotalt
Quote
...Especially the Florida cousins, who obviously can't take a hint.

Offline sircheddar

  • Thread Starter
  • Posts: 121
  • Location: Pasadena, California
Re: How to get this keyboard to work?
« Reply #10 on: Wed, 02 March 2016, 00:47:07 »
Looks like I probably picked up a 40 dollar meh keycap set then lol. Oh well, will be fun to try out anyways
Yes. and if it's BTC dome with sliders the keycaps may be MX compatible (sans the stabilized keys)

so, none of the keys w/ stabs will work? will the 1.5 and the 2u keys work?

I'm not sure, shouldn't be too hard to try.

The BTC dome with sliders are pretty good domes though, Chyros thinks they feel "85% as good as Topre" and I see no reason not to trust him.
High praise indeed

cool, maybe ill give the board a shot before i rip it apart for my satisfaction :D
" I hope that when the world comes to an end, I can breathe a sigh of relief, because there will be so much to look forward to. "

Offline chyros

  • a.k.a. Thomas
  • * Esteemed Elder
  • Posts: 3365
  • Location: The Netherlands
  • Hello and welcome.
Re: How to get this keyboard to work?
« Reply #11 on: Wed, 02 March 2016, 02:15:56 »
Yup, BTC DWS. Never seen a Wyse-branded one before... As far as rubber goes, it's really good. And yup, the caps are MX mount, but they're lasered ABS so it's probably more interesting to put cherry caps on the BTC than the other way around. Regardless, let us know what you think of it when it arrives :) .
Check my keyboard video reviews:


Offline sircheddar

  • Thread Starter
  • Posts: 121
  • Location: Pasadena, California
Re: How to get this keyboard to work?
« Reply #12 on: Wed, 02 March 2016, 08:24:11 »
Yup, BTC DWS. Never seen a Wyse-branded one before... As far as rubber goes, it's really good. And yup, the caps are MX mount, but they're lasered ABS so it's probably more interesting to put cherry caps on the BTC than the other way around. Regardless, let us know what you think of it when it arrives :) .

i shall give both a shot and see how it goes !
" I hope that when the world comes to an end, I can breathe a sigh of relief, because there will be so much to look forward to. "

Offline Findecanor

  • Posts: 4640
  • Location: Koriko
Re: How to get this keyboard to work?
« Reply #13 on: Wed, 02 March 2016, 13:16:30 »
so, none of the keys w/ stabs will work? will the 1.5 and the 2u keys work?
I have had two of these with different colour scheme and font.

1.5: yes, 2u: no. Some of the she stabilised keys are stabilised with extra plungers.
The keys are quite nice otherwise. Thin ABS but eight struts inside instead of four which is the norm. Same profile as Signature Plastics' DCS.
Man must shape his tools lest they shape him
-- Arthur Miller