Author Topic: [GB] Duck TC-V3 Kustom Keyboard  (Read 71511 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Online martink

  • Posts: 14
  • Location: Switzerland
Re: [GB] Duck TC-V3 Kustom Keyboard
« Reply #350 on: Thu, 07 March 2019, 02:43:42 »
I've tried in vain to get the plate file for this kit.  If anyone has one, or has reverse-engineered their own, please PM me.  I'd like to get a brass plate made.

Message me if you get the plate file. I would like to make a carbon-fiber plate.

Iíve had zero luck despite several attempts unfortunately.

I'm almost done redrawing the plate. Still need to add the holes/slots for the mounting screws, round off the outer corners and simplify stabilizer cutouts. And do a cheap test cut in acrylic or something (unless one of you can do a test cut quickly).

What kind of layout do you need? I'm personally going ANSI, split backspace and right shift, 1.5/1/1.5/6/1.5/1/1.5 bottom row, probably both kinds of caps lock, all 1u macro keys.

214561-0

Offline hhkbp2

  • Posts: 391
Re: [GB] Duck TC-V3 Kustom Keyboard
« Reply #351 on: Thu, 07 March 2019, 03:37:14 »

I'm almost done redrawing the plate. Still need to add the holes/slots for the mounting screws, round off the outer corners and simplify stabilizer cutouts. And do a cheap test cut in acrylic or something (unless one of you can do a test cut quickly).

What kind of layout do you need? I'm personally going ANSI, split backspace and right shift, 1.5/1/1.5/6/1.5/1/1.5 bottom row, probably both kinds of caps lock, all 1u macro keys.


Cool. Did you draw it with swillkb builder?

I prefer to 6.25u or 7u spacebar because it's much easier to get the keycap(especially SA). Could you draw an universal plate to be compatible with all spacebar sizes?

Online martink

  • Posts: 14
  • Location: Switzerland
Re: [GB] Duck TC-V3 Kustom Keyboard
« Reply #352 on: Thu, 07 March 2019, 05:02:44 »
Cool. Did you draw it with swillkb builder?

Partially. The switch cutouts are from swillkb builder. Using 0.15mm (IIRC) edge padding as the only customization. For the outline and additional cutouts, I put an original plate on a scanner, aligned it with the generated DXF and traced the outline manually in Fusion.

I prefer to 6.25u or 7u spacebar because it's much easier to get the keycap(especially SA). Could you draw an universal plate to be compatible with all spacebar sizes?

Sure, no problem. I'll make sure the bottom row matches the original plate.

6u can be a pain, I had to delay my build for a while when I learned (the hard way) that the 6u stab wire I had from an G80 1800 (with the extra bends) wouldn't work with a plate.

Offline hhkbp2

  • Posts: 391
Re: [GB] Duck TC-V3 Kustom Keyboard
« Reply #353 on: Thu, 07 March 2019, 05:28:06 »
Sure, no problem. I'll make sure the bottom row matches the original plate.

6u can be a pain, I had to delay my build for a while when I learned (the hard way) that the 6u stab wire I had from an G80 1800 (with the extra bends) wouldn't work with a plate.

Yeah, It's painful to use 6u. I suggest using OEM center stem 6u spacebar if you insist 6u. It's more popular then offset stem 6u these days on GMK keysets, but some tooling only has offset stem 6u, like epbt. But you still could buy the wire somewhere to match it, very few choice though. Or costar stab.

Online martink

  • Posts: 14
  • Location: Switzerland
Re: [GB] Duck TC-V3 Kustom Keyboard
« Reply #354 on: Fri, 08 March 2019, 02:38:46 »
I did insist on 6u for this board and got a wire (kbdfans has them) ;D

214676-0

Don't know if I chose offset stem because of the PCB or because of the keycaps.

[No progress on the plate file.]

Online jrfhoutx

  • Posts: 218
  • Location: Houston, TX
  • Post count is meaningless if the content is trash.
Re: [GB] Duck TC-V3 Kustom Keyboard
« Reply #355 on: Fri, 08 March 2019, 12:46:12 »
I did insist on 6u for this board and got a wire (kbdfans has them) ;D

(Attachment Link)

Don't know if I chose offset stem because of the PCB or because of the keycaps.

[No progress on the plate file.]

If you don't mind me asking, where are those relegendables from?

Online martink

  • Posts: 14
  • Location: Switzerland
Re: [GB] Duck TC-V3 Kustom Keyboard
« Reply #356 on: Fri, 08 March 2019, 13:48:37 »
If you don't mind me asking, where are those relegendables from?

I got them from an OG Skidata keyboard (from the ebay.de seller that sells them from time to time). The 1997 Cherry and 2017 GMK colors are a pretty good match.

Looks like the Skiidata GB starting next week will also have a relegendables kit (though most keys there are going to have orange front-printing).

Online razor_blade

  • Posts: 108
Re: [GB] Duck TC-V3 Kustom Keyboard
« Reply #357 on: Fri, 08 March 2019, 14:42:13 »
So I know mechmerlin has a board, any word on how the QMK port is going? It's the only reason this isn't my daily driver.

Offline hhkbp2

  • Posts: 391
Re: [GB] Duck TC-V3 Kustom Keyboard
« Reply #358 on: Fri, 08 March 2019, 23:21:03 »
So I know mechmerlin has a board, any word on how the QMK port is going? It's the only reason this isn't my daily driver.

I asked merlin when he will do the qmk port for this keyboard, he replied "soon".

Offline Visionaire

  • Posts: 348
Re: [GB] Duck TC-V3 Kustom Keyboard
« Reply #359 on: Thu, 14 March 2019, 12:33:29 »
So I know mechmerlin has a board, any word on how the QMK port is going? It's the only reason this isn't my daily driver.

Curious: What are you looking to do with QMK that you can't do out of the box to enable it to be your daily driver?

Online razor_blade

  • Posts: 108
Re: [GB] Duck TC-V3 Kustom Keyboard
« Reply #360 on: Thu, 14 March 2019, 12:41:22 »
So I know mechmerlin has a board, any word on how the QMK port is going? It's the only reason this isn't my daily driver.

Curious: What are you looking to do with QMK that you can't do out of the box to enable it to be your daily driver?

Have a backlight setting that isn't on highbeam all of the time. Tapdance, modpresses, etc.

Offline dc_in_sf

  • Posts: 84
  • Location: San Francisco
  • Old Bastard
Re: [GB] Duck TC-V3 Kustom Keyboard
« Reply #361 on: Thu, 14 March 2019, 13:37:17 »
So I know mechmerlin has a board, any word on how the QMK port is going? It's the only reason this isn't my daily driver.

Curious: What are you looking to do with QMK that you can't do out of the box to enable it to be your daily driver?

Have a backlight setting that isn't on highbeam all of the time. Tapdance, modpresses, etc.

I'm a huge fan of tap/hold functionality, and it's main reason all of my boards run QMK - except the TC-V3 so definitely hoping QMK gets ported.

Offline nevaenuf

  • Posts: 72
Re: [GB] Duck TC-V3 Kustom Keyboard
« Reply #362 on: Tue, 16 April 2019, 21:57:08 »
Does anyone understand the led cluster above the right arrow key.  There are 6 leds.  What do they map to?

Online jrfhoutx

  • Posts: 218
  • Location: Houston, TX
  • Post count is meaningless if the content is trash.
Re: [GB] Duck TC-V3 Kustom Keyboard
« Reply #363 on: Thu, 18 April 2019, 08:44:13 »
Does anyone understand the led cluster above the right arrow key.  There are 6 leds.  What do they map to?

Layers. On base layer the top and middle row left LEDs are lit (not sure if thatís supposed to be like that or not). I currently only have one extra layer programmed, but when I hold down the key to change to that layer the top row of 3 all light up. Havenít had time to play around with the board much yet, so I havenít added any extra layers to play with to see how the lights work (like what lights up for what layer).

Offline nevaenuf

  • Posts: 72
Re: [GB] Duck TC-V3 Kustom Keyboard
« Reply #364 on: Fri, 19 April 2019, 01:35:21 »
Does anyone understand the led cluster above the right arrow key.  There are 6 leds.  What do they map to?

Layers. On base layer the top and middle row left LEDs are lit (not sure if thatís supposed to be like that or not). I currently only have one extra layer programmed, but when I hold down the key to change to that layer the top row of 3 all light up. Havenít had time to play around with the board much yet, so I havenít added any extra layers to play with to see how the lights work (like what lights up for what layer).

Thanks.  I just go this put together tonight.  The layer leds are kinda wonky.  I've pretty much got to redo mine.  But they work.

Offline lzlzh035

  • Posts: 69
Re: [GB] Duck TC-V3 Kustom Keyboard
« Reply #365 on: Fri, 03 May 2019, 06:41:01 »
Anyone know  how to program this board? Just put it together but had no idea how to map it

Online jrfhoutx

  • Posts: 218
  • Location: Houston, TX
  • Post count is meaningless if the content is trash.
Re: [GB] Duck TC-V3 Kustom Keyboard
« Reply #366 on: Fri, 03 May 2019, 09:49:42 »
Anyone know  how to program this board? Just put it together but had no idea how to map it

O2D. You can get the latest O2D software from this post https://geekhack.org/index.php?topic=95335.msg2696393#msg2696393

Past that, you'll have to do some research to find guides and information on how to use it.

Offline lzlzh035

  • Posts: 69
Re: [GB] Duck TC-V3 Kustom Keyboard
« Reply #367 on: Sat, 04 May 2019, 05:56:13 »
Any links to the latest firmware?
.

Further up in the thread is a link to the latest O2D for the TC-V3.

Thanks.

And I found this on github
https://gist.github.com/ankailou/0b3f3183429536d86ecf4e7d27860b6c

Online jrfhoutx

  • Posts: 218
  • Location: Houston, TX
  • Post count is meaningless if the content is trash.
Re: [GB] Duck TC-V3 Kustom Keyboard
« Reply #368 on: Sat, 04 May 2019, 10:51:04 »
Any links to the latest firmware?
.

Further up in the thread is a link to the latest O2D for the TC-V3.

Thanks.

And I found this on github
https://gist.github.com/ankailou/0b3f3183429536d86ecf4e7d27860b6c

The only real issue I had was saving the hex file. It would constantly fail and error out when trying to save, no matter what name I gave the file. I didnít see it discussed in that guide you linked, but found mention of it in another guide/discussion, was that you need to go into the directory where O2D is and create a new txt file, rename it to whatever you want to call your hex, and change the extension from .txt to .hex. After that the file will show up when saving and allow you to overwrite it, giving you a working hex save file.

Offline lzlzh035

  • Posts: 69
Re: [GB] Duck TC-V3 Kustom Keyboard
« Reply #369 on: Mon, 06 May 2019, 19:14:15 »
Any links to the latest firmware?
.

Further up in the thread is a link to the latest O2D for the TC-V3.

Thanks.

And I found this on github
https://gist.github.com/ankailou/0b3f3183429536d86ecf4e7d27860b6c

The only real issue I had was saving the hex file. It would constantly fail and error out when trying to save, no matter what name I gave the file. I didnít see it discussed in that guide you linked, but found mention of it in another guide/discussion, was that you need to go into the directory where O2D is and create a new txt file, rename it to whatever you want to call your hex, and change the extension from .txt to .hex. After that the file will show up when saving and allow you to overwrite it, giving you a working hex save file.

I had that issue too until I changed that sys language to Korean as mentioned in the tutorial. It's a bit ridiculous for a board being sold internationally. But at least it works...

Online razor_blade

  • Posts: 108
Re: [GB] Duck TC-V3 Kustom Keyboard
« Reply #370 on: Mon, 06 May 2019, 19:30:22 »
Any progress on the QMK port mechmerlin?

Online jrfhoutx

  • Posts: 218
  • Location: Houston, TX
  • Post count is meaningless if the content is trash.
Re: [GB] Duck TC-V3 Kustom Keyboard
« Reply #371 on: Mon, 06 May 2019, 23:11:37 »
Any progress on the QMK port mechmerlin?

Heís said heís still working on it. I asked him about it during one of his recent build streams, you can catch his answer here:  https://www.twitch.tv/videos/414011590?t=7757s

Online tex_live_utility

  • Posts: 599
Re: [GB] Duck TC-V3 Kustom Keyboard
« Reply #372 on: Tue, 07 May 2019, 07:45:11 »
Any links to the latest firmware?
.

Further up in the thread is a link to the latest O2D for the TC-V3.

Thanks.

And I found this on github
https://gist.github.com/ankailou/0b3f3183429536d86ecf4e7d27860b6c

The only real issue I had was saving the hex file. It would constantly fail and error out when trying to save, no matter what name I gave the file. I didnít see it discussed in that guide you linked, but found mention of it in another guide/discussion, was that you need to go into the directory where O2D is and create a new txt file, rename it to whatever you want to call your hex, and change the extension from .txt to .hex. After that the file will show up when saving and allow you to overwrite it, giving you a working hex save file.

I had that issue too until I changed that sys language to Korean as mentioned in the tutorial. It's a bit ridiculous for a board being sold internationally. But at least it works...

When I used O2D I was able to flash successfully without changing language.

Online jrfhoutx

  • Posts: 218
  • Location: Houston, TX
  • Post count is meaningless if the content is trash.
Re: [GB] Duck TC-V3 Kustom Keyboard
« Reply #373 on: Tue, 07 May 2019, 09:03:04 »
Any links to the latest firmware?
.

Further up in the thread is a link to the latest O2D for the TC-V3.

Thanks.

And I found this on github
https://gist.github.com/ankailou/0b3f3183429536d86ecf4e7d27860b6c

The only real issue I had was saving the hex file. It would constantly fail and error out when trying to save, no matter what name I gave the file. I didnít see it discussed in that guide you linked, but found mention of it in another guide/discussion, was that you need to go into the directory where O2D is and create a new txt file, rename it to whatever you want to call your hex, and change the extension from .txt to .hex. After that the file will show up when saving and allow you to overwrite it, giving you a working hex save file.

I had that issue too until I changed that sys language to Korean as mentioned in the tutorial. It's a bit ridiculous for a board being sold internationally. But at least it works...

When I used O2D I was able to flash successfully without changing language.

Yeah I never had any problems flashing without changing the language, just saving a hex file, but the workaround was easy enough.

Online Capsy

  • Posts: 148
Re: [GB] Duck TC-V3 Kustom Keyboard
« Reply #374 on: Tue, 28 May 2019, 23:17:28 »
Hi,
Can anyone help me out with the LEDs and underglow RGB controls? I just got this board and the underglow was working. I flashed a new hex file using O2D and it was still working but then all of a sudden, the RGB Mode function in the layer does nothing and the underglow does not light up.

Any pointers would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.



Offline slayer12

  • Posts: 4
Re: [GB] Duck TC-V3 Kustom Keyboard
« Reply #375 on: Sat, 17 August 2019, 11:13:09 »
I have assembled the keyboard using Snow-Pro ALPS-TKL pcb and I'm struggling with keymap.
I tried both Snow Tool and O2D tool to connect to the board without success.

I thought that I do not have the correct driver installed.
Could anyone help me with this.

Offline Puddsy

  • nice
  • * Elated Elder
  • Posts: 11143
  • Location: Campaign Trail
  • "Do you shovel to survive, or survive to shovel?"
Re: [GB] Duck TC-V3 Kustom Keyboard
« Reply #376 on: Sat, 17 August 2019, 16:56:39 »
I have assembled the keyboard using Snow-Pro ALPS-TKL pcb and I'm struggling with keymap.
I tried both Snow Tool and O2D tool to connect to the board without success.

I thought that I do not have the correct driver installed.
Could anyone help me with this.

describe your issue in more detail please

but if it's a snow pcb it uses snowtools
QFR | MJ2 TKL | "Bulgogiboard" (Keycon 104) | MIRA SE | TGR Alice | Daily driver: TGR Alice

Everything you have said in the past has been false so I will keep my hope.

Offline dc_in_sf

  • Posts: 84
  • Location: San Francisco
  • Old Bastard
Re: [GB] Duck TC-V3 Kustom Keyboard
« Reply #377 on: Sun, 18 August 2019, 11:25:00 »
I have assembled the keyboard using Snow-Pro ALPS-TKL pcb and I'm struggling with keymap.
I tried both Snow Tool and O2D tool to connect to the board without success.

I thought that I do not have the correct driver installed.
Could anyone help me with this.

How do you even get a TKL pcb to fit in this case with the funky layout?  :eek:

Online jrfhoutx

  • Posts: 218
  • Location: Houston, TX
  • Post count is meaningless if the content is trash.
Re: [GB] Duck TC-V3 Kustom Keyboard
« Reply #378 on: Sun, 18 August 2019, 12:50:46 »
I have assembled the keyboard using Snow-Pro ALPS-TKL pcb and I'm struggling with keymap.
I tried both Snow Tool and O2D tool to connect to the board without success.

I thought that I do not have the correct driver installed.
Could anyone help me with this.

How do you even get a TKL pcb to fit in this case with the funky layout?  :eek:

I wondered the same thing. Maybe it was meant for the Orion V3 thread.

Offline goddream

  • Posts: 31
Re: [GB] Duck TC-V3 Kustom Keyboard
« Reply #379 on: Wed, 28 August 2019, 20:40:00 »
is Duck ever going to rerun this board/a variant of it? One of my dream layouts

Offline Rumblehotep

  • Posts: 389
Re: [GB] Duck TC-V3 Kustom Keyboard
« Reply #380 on: Wed, 28 August 2019, 20:54:33 »
is Duck ever going to rerun this board/a variant of it? One of my dream layouts
I wonder what Duck's take on an ergoboard would be like