Author Topic: What were your initial impressions of the Kinesis Advantage?  (Read 8178 times)

Offline squarefrog

• \m/_
    • Ergodox Layout Stats
What were your initial impressions of the Kinesis Advantage?
« on: Sun, 02 March 2014, 13:13:59 »
I just wondered what your initial impressions of the Kinesis Advantage were? I spent about 3 weeks trying to decide between the Ergodox and the Kinesis Advantage. Eventually, I got frustrated waiting for the various parts of the Ergodox to become available and so bought the Advantage.

I knew there would be some adjustment period to using it, but my first impressions were a massive disappointment. I've got about 25 days left to return it so I'm trying to decide what to do.

Was I just too impatient or is it just not a good fit for me? I program for a living in Objective-C so [ ] placement is pretty important. I found the keyboard to be too tall - I find I have to raise my shoulders to type, which caused me pain.

So how did you find it, and how long did it take for you to get used to it?

Offline Lanx

Re: What were your initial impressions of the Kinesis Advantage?
« Reply #1 on: Sun, 02 March 2014, 17:50:22 »
wtf, this weird pos shape and the stationary non tenting one size.

sounds like you need to adjust your keyboard tray/desk/chair alignment, figure that out first.

Offline squarefrog

• \m/_
    • Ergodox Layout Stats
« Reply #2 on: Sun, 02 March 2014, 18:04:10 »
I'm not really sure what you mean? I don't have a keyboard tray, and cannot adjust my desk or chair any more than I already have. The only option for me was to use it on my lap, which just felt odd.

Offline Lanx

« Reply #3 on: Sun, 02 March 2014, 18:08:17 »
yea might want to look for more adjustment options, don't conform to your desk, make your desk conform to you, or bones will cry in a few months.

Offline squarefrog

• \m/_
    • Ergodox Layout Stats
« Reply #4 on: Sun, 02 March 2014, 18:12:15 »