Author Topic: Please help to draw a schematics for cherry ML based keyboard.  (Read 13717 times)

Offline Nylithius

Disclaimer: sorry if i put this topic in wrong forum, move it to more convenient forum if it require.

Hello forum. Currently i'm working on yet another ergonomic keyboard, which is not announced yet. And i need to draw a schematics for my circuit boards (4 circuit boards total). And here i require your help.

Everything else is just fine: i know well C programming language, i can use "tmk_keyboard", 3D model of my keyboard is prepared to be printed, etc. Except one this simple thing - electronics. In particular - PCB circuit scheme.

Sadly, this is my first project which require PCB, and at least basic knowledge of electronics. I ofc. know how electronics and mechanical keyboards work, but i have no experience of drawing PCBs.

I will use cherry ML switches, and AVR-USB162MU (or it's analogue) as a controller.

But i currently stuck on PCB drawing because i have no idea how to draw it.

Here is example of PCB of cherry ML based keyboard:

And here is example of scheme of approximately similar keyboard (sorry - scheme is transparent):

So here i require your help:

1) Do any of you know how i should connect switchers to controller? Especially cherry ML and AVR controllers.

2) What i should know before i attempt to draw nice scheme, and what i should do before that?

3) Is cherry MX similar to cherry ML? Can i use MX-based scheme to draw my own? (with modifications ofc.)

And yes, here is small picture of Cherry ML's pins:

Hopefully this will help you help me.

I will tell a bit more about my keyboard in different topic, right after i'll assemble it, but here is basic layout of my keyboard:

That's why i need 4 PCBs to get it done. It's divided by 2 parts, and each part have "main frame" with all basic keys, and "thumb frame", with 4 thumb keys.

Offline Lanx

Re: Please help to draw a schematics for cherry ML based keyboard.