Author Topic: Using QWERTY shortcuts with a Dvorak layout. need some help  (Read 8986 times)

Offline Fiery

• Click Clack Clock and a nice Thock
Using QWERTY shortcuts with a Dvorak layout. need some help
« on: Tue, 05 January 2016, 05:35:49 »
So recently I have been learning to type with the Dvorak layout. (specifically the norwegian version). And the biggest drawback for me are the keyboard shortcuts, which I have grown accustomed to and I think are better layed out on QWERTY. the are mostly on the left hand which leaves the right hand available for the mouse. So to the reason I am making this post, I need some help finding a way to allow me to use my Dvorak layout but having Qwerty shortcuts. I have googled and found that someone had used autohotkey to do this. I have never used autohotkey before, is this the best way of doing this? or are there better ways?

here is how the norwegian dvorak layout looks

any help is appreciated :)

~Fiery
TP4 fanboy

Offline pyro

Re: Using QWERTY shortcuts with a Dvorak layout. need some help
« Reply #1 on: Tue, 05 January 2016, 07:04:47 »
I'd do it in Autohotkey. It's not too hard.

This "script" should work:
Code: [Select]
^j::^c
^k::^v

Syntax is
<what you press>::<what you want to happen instead>^ is the sign for ctrl. See https://autohotkey.com/docs/Hotkeys.htm for more.

Note, that you're going to lose ctrl+j and ctrl+k shortcuts (in case some of your programs use them). You can choose any other keys instead of j/k, of course.
« Last Edit: Tue, 05 January 2016, 08:36:13 by pyro »

Offline Fiery

« Reply #2 on: Tue, 05 January 2016, 13:58:03 »
I'd do it in Autohotkey. It's not too hard.

This "script" should work:
^j::^c
^k::^v

Syntax is
<what you press>::<what you want to happen instead>^ is the sign for ctrl. See https://autohotkey.com/docs/Hotkeys.htm for more.

Note, that you're going to lose ctrl+j and ctrl+k shortcuts (in case some of your programs use them). You can choose any other keys instead of j/k, of course.