Author Topic: Noob here but not everywhere...  (Read 2231 times)

Offline samwisekoi

• MAWG since 1997
  • * Administrator
  • Sorry, moving houses. Be back ASAP.
    • Tweet samwisekoi
Noob here but not everywhere...
« on: Mon, 01 October 2012, 18:22:55 »
Greetings!

I am new here, but not everywhere, and certainly not new to the world of proper keyboards.  One of my first "real jobs" was working for the Memorex Comm Division, where we built IBM plug-compatible terminals (3270, 5051) for commercial customers.  In those days -- before the introduction of the Model M -- it was a normal thing to visit keyboard manufacturers to evaluate and specify keyboards down to the component level.  And to build things in the US of A!  So back in the day I visited Alps, Cherry, Keytronic and probably others.

Oh, and at that point in time, the keyboards still had metal shells and double-shot keycaps.

When the PC, XT and AT came out, we had those and made clones, and I got my first true IBM keyboard.

Some years went by, and manufacturing left the US, and keyboards went bad.  Then the gamers came into the world and proper keyboards are back!

I am writing this on my '93 Model M 101-key with a few custom keys from Unicomp.  As a Linux user, I don't need or want the Windows and Menu keys, so life is good.  (I *have* remapped Esc and added keyboard macros for Mute, VolUp and VolDn, however.)

Anyhow, it is now clear that I need (not want) one or more newer keyboards with real switches.  I can't use a Model M at home and expect others to sleep, so a 101+/- keyboard with browns is my current target.  Filco, Leopold, Roswell or WASD are what I am looking into, and this forum is where the best scoop can be found.

So here I am!

Very best regards,

- Ron | Samwisekoi
   '93 Model M

"A noob here but not everywhere!"
I like keyboards and case modding.  Everything about a computer should be silent -- except the KEYBOARD!