Author Topic: 60% Unicomp Build - Success!  (Read 5626 times)

Offline Bi0

60% Unicomp Build - Success!
« on: Fri, 17 June 2016, 16:23:23 »
Hey all!

So I'm a long time lurker here (just created an account not that long ago).  I have 2 model m's and a unicomp, I'l looking to make the unicomp into an SSK but had some questions about the traces since they are different than the model m's.  I'm new to modifying the membrane itself as I haven't done it before, however have done a lot of mods to my m's like USB conversion, bolt mod, led swap etc...  So had a few questions really:

So first question, with what I'm doing is there any insight on the best method for re-doing the traces? I know we have: http://imgur.com/a/AOaFm but the mod I'm doing is a little different as seen in the images and the membrane is different. Here's a image of what I'm trying to do: http://imgur.com/qPYF8Hu I was also thinking of the folding method where you folder the membrane under the plate, but with the case I'm making I'm not sure that would work.

I was also thinking of using AHK to modify the menu key into a FN key, but I'm not sure if this will work so any insight there would be awesome. Because if I can do that I would just cut it down to a true 60% w/o FN keys.

As for the case, I'm actually going to be making it out of wood, just not sure what type of wood I want to use.  That will come later once I figure all of this out.

EDIT:  I just saw Hasu's converter: https://geekhack.org/index.php?topic=69169.0 So if I'm understanding that right, I should be able to use that for a 60%.  So any help with doing the traces would be amazing or even if someone knows of a place that will do custom membranes for a decent price.