Author Topic: Budget build advice  (Read 1285 times)

Offline W1SH

Budget build advice
« on: Tue, 27 October 2020, 14:18:38 »
Hi nerds,
I'm relatively new to keyboards, and am beginning to get into the weeds a bit more. I've now passed the point of no return and I'm determined to build my own custom to replace the stock I have now. However, I want to try to avoid breaking the bank completely by staying at around a $150 - $160 USD price point. So far, I've developed what I think is a pretty decent plan to accomplish this, but I wanted the community's advice on the topic just to make sure I'm not screwing anything up tremendously. Here it is:

As a base, I buy a Glorious GMMK Compact with no switches or keycaps. That way I get a hotswap pcb, plate and entry level case which comes dampened for $70 USD. For switches, I get Novelkey creams + Krytox 205G0. For keycaps, I haven't entirely decided yet. I'm looking to buy something relatively nice at the $30 - $40 price point, so if anyone has any recommendations, I would love to hear them.

So, let me know how I did.
Also, on a side note, I considered replacing the plate in the GMMK at least at some point. I don't know yet, however, as I haven't been able to find what plate is included in the stock board anywhere. If anyone can tell me weather or not a brass or fr4 plate would be in order to achieve a thocky/muted sound profile.

Thanks!
-W1SH

Offline Leslieann

• * Elevated Elder
Re: Budget build advice
« Reply #1 on: Wed, 28 October 2020, 00:04:50 »
Good start.

Couple ideas...
Look up Finish Line Extreme Flouro (Amazon), half the price pretty close to the same thing as 205. It's not 100% exact but pretty darn close.

Get a magnetic USB cable (Amazon), the port is micro usb and therefor fragile. I use the Netdot gen2, another user here has the gen 10, both work well and relatively cheap, certainly cheaper than repairing a damaged port.

Thick...