Author Topic: Capslock mod on a Das?  (Read 2502 times)

Offline rek55

Capslock mod on a Das?
« on: Wed, 02 January 2013, 21:41:05 »
I'm just beginning with my keyboard modding / keycap collecting addiction... and I was wondering:

Is it possible to get a Caps Lock key that has the indented spacer on it like this for a Das keyboard? I'm not sure of all the lingo (center stem capslock or something?), but a picture's worth a thousand words.

Preferably I'd like to get a black blank one, but just knowing what you guys would call such a key would be immensely helpful.

My future Das Ultimate S, all modded up. For now, it's a bit more black.

Offline rek55

Re: Capslock mod on a Das?
« Reply #1 on: Wed, 02 January 2013, 21:48:06 »
Second question:

On a Das Ultimate (blank keys, no Fn key), is there a special name for the modifier keys, or are they just the normal size ones? And what size is the spacebar? Is that also a standard size or not?

Offline rowdy

• HHKB Hapster
  • * Erudite Elder
  • Missed another sale.
« Reply #2 on: Thu, 03 January 2013, 01:14:15 »
There is a bit of discussion about centre-stemmed stepped caps lock (for such they are called) keycaps here: http://geekhack.org/index.php?topic=37587.0

Unfortunately they are not listed on techkeys.us site atm, perhaps they are out of stock.

You might glance through the current group buys, and/or have a look to see if anyone is selling one from the recent SP crap bags.
"Because keyboards are accessories to PC makers, they focus on minimizing the manufacturing costs. But that’s incorrect. It’s in HHKB’s slogan, but when America’s cowboys were in the middle of a trip and their horse died, they would leave the horse there. But even if they were in the middle of a desert, they would take their saddle with them. The horse was a consumable good, but the saddle was an interface that their bodies had gotten used to. In the same vein, PCs are consumable goods, while keyboards are important interfaces." - Eiiti Wada