Author Topic: Talk some sense into me: cutting up Ducky  (Read 4760 times)

Offline dotancohen

• Dotan Cohen
Talk some sense into me: cutting up Ducky
« on: Thu, 12 May 2011, 11:02:38 »
I usually type on a split MS Natural 4000, but today I spend a few minutes on a regular straight keyboard. Ouch, right away my forearms grew tired. I tried forging a makeshift handrest from towels, but it was no use. I just don't get along with straight keyboards...
...which is not good as I just ordered (have not yet received) a Ducky 1008.

Here is a picture of the 1008's PCB from the seller's website:
[ Guests cannot view attachments ] 18083[/ATTACH]

Those wiser than myself, please tell me not to get any wild ideas about cutting the PCB in half, soldering wires to the two halves (or three thirds) and mounting them in the MSN4K body. I'm no electrical engineer but I love to tinker. Tell me how difficult it is to cut between those mazes of printed circuit, and how no one has successfully ever done such a thing. Tell me that the boards cannot be simply cut and have their electrical pathways mended with solder and wire. Tell me it's doomed for failure.

Offline dotancohen

• Dotan Cohen
« Reply #1 on: Thu, 12 May 2011, 11:53:38 »
What advantage would I get from using some monster cable as opposed to just scrap wire from an old extension cord? I'm no EE, so I could use all the advice I could get.

No, I mean all the discouragement that I could get!

Offline dotancohen

• Dotan Cohen
« Reply #2 on: Thu, 12 May 2011, 11:58:44 »
Quote from: ripster;345388
It's a Ducky.  It's made to be cut up.

In what sense? Because it is inexpensive, or is the PCB somewhat flimsier (easier to cut physically), or is the printed circuit maze somewhat simpler (implying easier to engineer a soldering solution between the halves)?

Offline wanabe

« Reply #3 on: Thu, 12 May 2011, 12:00:31 »

Offline dotancohen

• Dotan Cohen
« Reply #4 on: Thu, 12 May 2011, 12:01:12 »
Quote from: harrison;345390