Author Topic: keyboard0 - TKL + Macro keys with USB hub  (Read 2460 times)

Offline ht12345

• Keyboard designer
keyboard0 - TKL + Macro keys with USB hub
« on: Sun, 09 January 2022, 22:10:34 »
Hey everyone! This is my first Geekhack post, hopefully it's good enough!

I'm quite new to the hobby, and recently got quite interested in getting a custom keyboard for myself after using a gaming keyboard for over 4 years. After searching, I couldn't find anything that I specifically preferred, and decided to just try to design my own.
Hence this project! So for the past 3 months, I've been working on developing this keyboard. I dubbed this the "keyboard0" because it's a keyboard, and since it's the first keyboard I'm designing, it has an index of 0.
I plan to eventually open source the files to this project

Specs:
  • TKL layout + left macro row column (90 keys in total)
  • 2 rotary encoders
  • OLED display
  • STM32 microcontroller
  • Per-key RGB matrix lighting
  • USB hub through daughterboard
  • Hotswap fixed ANSI layout (for now)
  • QMK firmware ready, with eventual VIA/Vial support

I intend on this to be gasket mounted. Other than that, I don't have any specific specs for the case.

Layout:
280953-0

First prototype:
I tried integrating the USB hub into the actual keyboard design for my first prototype, in an attempt to have everything on one PCB. This unfortunately proved to be a horrible idea, as it created multiple points in the design where it could fail, and it ultimately did fail once I received the prototypes. More information on the first prototype can be found here.

Second prototype:
After the failure of the first prototype, I redesigned it addressing several issues. I decided to remove the USB hub, but kept a footprint for a JST connector so that it can be used with a daughterboard as well. I also switched from using SK6812's for RGB lighting to an RGB matrix with 3 IS31FL3731 drivers and MHT151RGBCT LEDs (they seem to be generic common anode LEDs).