Author Topic: Free Solder LEDs?  (Read 1692 times)

Offline captiandoge

Free Solder LEDs?
« on: Sat, 24 January 2015, 16:13:02 »
Hello! I am trying to make my first custom keyboard! I am not very good at electronics so I can't design a PCB. I thought the next best thing would be to free solder my switches! The only problem I have is I would like to attach LEDs to all of my switches.

How would I go about doing that? Any help would be appreciated.

Offline Hellcatz

Re: Free Solder LEDs?
« Reply #1 on: Sat, 24 January 2015, 16:32:37 »
Make a socket for the led to plug into and solder it onto the PCB just need the LEDs to have a good contact

Offline captiandoge

« Reply #2 on: Sat, 24 January 2015, 16:49:49 »
I'm not using a PCB is the thing

Offline suicidal_orange

• * Global Moderator
« Reply #3 on: Sat, 24 January 2015, 16:50:28 »
The easiest way I can think to do LEDs without a PCB (I assume that's what you mean by "free soldering" the switches?) would be to glue each LED to a switch, then the leads would be there to solder to.  The leads are the other side to the pins so shouldn't be too hard to avoid shorts, but you will have a lot of wires to fit in the case.

Also if you glue them you won't be able to swap the switch springs/stems and may need to replace the switch if the LED fails if you can't get them unglued.
120/100g linear Zealio R1  
GMK Hyperfuse
'Split everything' perfection  
MX Clear
SA Hack'd by Geeks     
EasyAVR mod

Offline hasu

• @tmk
    • tmk keyboard firmware project
« Reply #4 on: Sat, 24 January 2015, 18:23:55 »
Maybe Good ol' wire wrapping?
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wire_wrap

Offline dorkvader

• all about the "hack" in "geekhack"
« Reply #5 on: Sun, 25 January 2015, 00:11:41 »
Make a socket for the led to plug into and solder it onto the PCB just need the LEDs to have a good contact

I'm not using a PCB is the thing