Author Topic: Assigning Keys  (Read 1485 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline OnTheBrink

  • Thread Starter
  • Posts: 583
  • Location: New York
  • Work Hard. Play Harder.
    • Wired In Store
Assigning Keys
« on: Fri, 16 May 2014, 18:34:33 »
I'd like to assign my LC660C's FN-Insert and FN-Delete to be volume up and volume down respectively. What is the easiest way to do this? I wouldn't mind setting another key to mute as well.

I know this probably a newb question, sorry.

Offline BucklingSpring

  • Posts: 1613
Re: Assigning Keys
« Reply #1 on: Sat, 17 May 2014, 07:37:08 »
One  word answer: AutoHotKey (http://www.autohotkey.com/)
In memory of smallfry 1996-2013
Boards I own, click ->
More
Ducky x2 (9008G2 Pro PBT/MX Green and Mini MX Red), Matias x2 (QP and Mini QP Dampened ALPS), Topre RealForce x4 (87U 55g/Digilog case, 103U-UW & 104UG High-Profile x2), Filco Majestouch x2 (TKL MX Blue & V2 AI 104 MX Blue), IBM-M x2 (BS & RD), Unicomp-M x5 (BS black on black x2, BS Ivory x2, QT Ultra-Classic), Deck x4 (Legend MX Black & MX Clear, Hassium & Francium w/ MX Brown), DAS III (MX Blue), KBT Pure Pro 60% (MX Red), NMB-RT8256CW+ x2 (black space invader), XArmor U9BL-S (MX Brown) given for free to someone I hate, CM X2 (Trigger/MX Green + Storm TKL/NovaTouch), TVS GOLD (MX Blue) and a many many more (NMB, DELL, MS, ATT, KeyTronic, Etc...)

Offline nrd

  • Posts: 71
Re: Assigning Keys
« Reply #2 on: Sat, 17 May 2014, 07:49:58 »
At least if you're on windows^^

These are my AHK mediakeys:
Code: [Select]
AppsKey & Insert::SendInput {Media_Play_Pause}
AppsKey & Delete::SendInput {Media_Prev}
AppsKey & Home::SendInput {Media_Stop}
AppsKey & End::SendInput {Media_Next}
AppsKey & PgUp::SendInput {Volume_Up}
AppsKey & PgDn::SendInput {Volume_Down}
AppsKey & Pause::SendInput {Volume_Mute}

You'd  just have to replace the "AppsKey" with your Fn key (even though it seems like it could be a bit tricky to target the Fn Key: http://www.autohotkey.net/~faqbot/faq.html#fnkey ) and mix the assigned functions around as you like. But in general it really doesn't get any easier than AutoHotKey.

Offline OnTheBrink

  • Thread Starter
  • Posts: 583
  • Location: New York
  • Work Hard. Play Harder.
    • Wired In Store
Re: Assigning Keys
« Reply #3 on: Sat, 17 May 2014, 16:02:05 »
Autohotkey it is! Thanks guys ahah.

EDIT: Wait, doesn't AutoHotKey just run a script and have to remain on?

EDIT 2: I got it. I am using KeyTweaks which is really intuitive. It allows you to press the key strokes, assign a command like Volume Up and edits the registry for you. The keyboard doesn't read FN-Delete as a key so I just made it F11 and F12.
« Last Edit: Sat, 17 May 2014, 16:14:18 by OnTheBrink »